I’ve been plotting …

Perennial cornflowerOriental poppy foliageagain at long last.  The past couple of days have been dry, sunny and relatively warm so I made the most of them.  The ground is still soggy so Friday morning I removed the dead crocosmia leaves exposing the new growth that’s just visible and then cut down the Michaelmas daisy stems. Looking round it’s good to see the perennial cornflowers starting to regrow and the oriental poppy foliage

Yesterday I carefully pruned the blackberry and rose Pretty Lady, both of which are very thorny.  All the cuttings have gone in the dustbin and will be burnt at some stage with the ash being added to the compost heap.  Whilst pruning the rose I noticed that something (? a fox) has been nibbling Fox Junior’s nose and one of his ears!

Fox Junior and daffodils

The collomia grandifloraCollomia grandiflora headerhas also happily self-seeded with the new plants doing well, especially the ones on the adjacent plot! I shall hopefully transplant them back onto mine before Irish Brian digs that part of his plot over.

It was really good to have been plotting again, and hopefully I’ll be there again tomorrow. After that, at least for a few days, the temperature looks set to drop again and there’s little sign of any sunshine, although it should stay dry.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’ve been plotting …

  1. Mo says:

    It’s good to hear that you are plotting again. We have done very little in the garden recently. Like you, our ground is soggy.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Isn’t it good to be able to get out and do something practical for a change?! I sowed my Broad Beans two days ago, which was a big step forward, psychologically.

  3. It is good to be able to do something out there. Poor Junior. It’s nice to see new growth at last. Hope the weather improves soon too!

  4. snowbird says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to be able to get out again? I love seeing your new growth….may it all flourish and grow! Here’s to no more rain! xxxxx

  5. Jo says:

    It’s been a lovely weekend here too, it’s so lovely to see the sun shining again, though it’ll take more than a weekend without rain for my plot to dry out. Poor Fox Junior having his nose nibbled.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it seems that we all had a good weekend. Same here, it’ll need at least a couple of weeks. He’s looking better now that I’ve sandpapered it smooth again! xx

  6. disgruntled says:

    feeling even further behind now!

  7. wellywoman says:

    That collomia is unusual. I don’t think I’ve come across it before and such a pretty colour. Will have to investigate it further. I’m glad to hear you’ve had the chance to enjoy the sunshine. It feels good to get out and be active again in the garden or on the plot. It’s a pity it doesn’t look like it will last but if it at least stays dry I’ll be happy. Have a great week. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly there is a story behind that particular flower. I’ll find the post I did or tell it again. It really was most pleasant enjoying the good weather, and doing some plotting. It looks like staying dry here all week. thanks, and you too. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    From the looks of your photos, seems like you’re even getting some sunshine. Now nice to see daffodils (?) pushing up around the foot of your rose. Very nice shot of the collomia blooms.

  9. Doris says:

    Well, since it was Valentine’s Day just a short while back, maybe it was a love lorn fox who nibbled on Fox Junior!

  10. menhir1 says:

    Although it is a false Spring, it is great to be able to take advantage of it. We had overnight frost which, took time to melt today, following a high of 10 Celsius during yesterday. It’s a case, I think, of keeping on plodding with the plotting. xx

  11. How lovely Flighty, I’m glad you managed to do some plotting, I spent the weekend in the garden enjoying the sunshine, though it was still bitingly cold in the shade and we awoke to frost again. Hope you manage more and more days up on your plot as the year progresses. Time outside now, when it is still winter, always seems extra special, as if you are somehow cheating!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks. I hope so too as I don’t like starting and stopping if the weather keeps changing. It does indeed, and I don’t mind cheating doing this! xx

  12. annie_h says:

    Glad you have been able to get plotting! I’ve not been up to my plot for a couple of weeks and missed the good weather this weekend. I’m hoping I can get up there this weekend, I’m sure I’ll soon catch up.

Leave a Reply

