Just for an hour…

2013 RSPB Big Garden BirdwatchI’ll be both watching and counting the birds that I see out front for an hour sometime over the weekend, probably on Sunday morning.

This will be for the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch, which I’ve done for a number of years now.  I’ll be surprised if I see anything out of the ordinary, and it’s more likely that I won’t see all the regulars.

Thankfully the snow from last weekend has now cleared but it’s still cold and overcast. The forecast is for much milder, but wet, weather.

The Sofa flying post The Kate Shackleton Mysteries that I did on Tuesday may be of interest to anyone who enjoys reading cosy crime books.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Just for an hour…

  1. snowbird says:

    Ahha! You and me both Flighty! Our forecast is cold and frosty so I’ll be out bird counting with a hot flask of coffee and my mittens on. I don’t tend to see anything unusual but once I did spot an overseas visiting thrush, I forget it’s name though. You have a wonderful weekend too.

  2. Jo says:

    I’m hoping to set aside an hour to do a bit of bird counting too. The snow’s started to thaw here today, but the road is still icy with compacted snow. My next door neighbour fell flat on her back trying to cross it (luckily, it’s a cul-de-sac so not many cars), and she’s hurt her back. I do wish the gritters would come by, but as it’s such a small road, it never gets gritted.

  3. daffy says:

    We will do it from the comfort of my conservatory. Dad in charge… as usual. We have a threat of more snow tomorrow before the milder temps come along next week. Car sharing with Allen has me a little tired. 😉 Stay warm & safe.

  4. The table I sit at for typing is by the window so I can keep an eye on the garden below – so far only two fat wood pigeons have made themselves known in the snow – and the ubiquitous pigeons are everywhere of course. I always hope to see more but mostly I’m content to listen to the birdsong through the window and know that the robins and sparrows are there. Have a good weekend!

  5. David Ford says:

    We are going to do Big Garden Birdwatch on those days Mike I think we will have plenty to add, we have also been watching the changing feeding patterns at our bird table with natural food in short supply.

  6. Jan Watson says:

    Thank you Mike – we have a bit of a dearth of birds at the moment too…. :o(

  7. elaine says:

    It has been a great winter for garden birdwatching – just hope they all stick around the big bird count.

  8. Carrie says:

    YAY!! Winter Bird Watch – we’re all ready in this house. We’re doing it on Sunday and have been getting loads recently 🙂 It may have something to do with the Hubby’s obsession with feeders, haha.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    We’ve had a couple days of drippy weather and it’s perfect for being inside. Who knows what you’ll see in terms of birds!

  10. daffy says:

    We are half hour into our bird watch! What a show we are having, not going to tell you yet though, I shall blog it! haha Anyway, we have a little quandry you may be able help with. Does the thrush have to be really speckled? we have a large-ish robust bird with long legs but it does seem rather brown as oppose to an obvious speckle. It definitely isn’t a female black bird. My guess is, Song thrush, Mistle thrush, a fieldfare … any ideas?

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy it sounds like you’re doing well! I’ll be doing mine tomorrow morning.
      Your mystery bird could be a first winter male blackbird which is brown, slightly speckled and doesn’t have a yellow beck. The others are usually clearly speckled, and the fieldfare has a yellow beck. xx

  11. Donna says:

    I’m afraid if I did this I’d get 2 pigeons and a sparrow. I’ve had feeders out all winter and there are just no birds. I can’t understand it!

Leave a Reply

