If anyone has wondered…

why I no longer do the occasional non-plotting posts about nature and wildlife TV programmes it’s because I haven’t had a working television since the analogue signal was switched off last April .  I used to watch very little so rather than buy a new set then I thought that I’d wait a few months and see if I could do without one.

I’ve not missed it at all and just have watched a few must see programmes on BBC iPlayer.  The money that I’ve saving no longer paying for the TV licence or buying the Radio Times will go towards a new PC when this clunky old one needs replacing.

The weather has remained very cold and the forecast for midday tomorrow is heavy snow with a wind chill factor going to make the -2 C temperature feel like -8 C.  With that in mind I decided to walk to the library and supermarket this morning. I timed my visit to the former perfectly because as I arrived a member of staff was about to put a couple of books out on the New Books stand. I borrowed both as they were on my must read list and one, Robert Ryan’s Dead Man’s Land, I’m really looking forward to reading as I’ve enjoyed all his previous books. Hopefully this, and some other books that I’ve read recently, I’ll mention and review over on Sofa flying which I took off the shelf again last week.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to If anyone has wondered…

  1. David Ford says:

    I agree that what is on TV is 95% rubbish, but we wouldn`t like to bite our nose off to spite our face so to speak as there are two or three excellent programs we do watch, mostly wildlife I might add, but good for you Mike to have actually done it, there is a lot more pleasure in a good book than a reality show and the iplayer is a excellent substitute. All the best David

  2. menhir1 says:

    TV is a strange mix these days. I watch very little, always did. I am not habituated to TV. If there were not other considerations, I doubt if I would seek out an awful lot of what is produced for our consumption. If, and when, our broadband is improved to something viable, I would, if required, do as you are, using the iplayer for anything of particular interest.

    FYI I am currently reading The Silent State; it’s been on by bookshelf waiting for me, for months.

    xx

  3. wellywoman says:

    We considered not getting a new TV when the analogue signal went but in the end did. Quite often it’s on in the background but I’m not properly watching it, as we’re both generally writing on an evening. We lived abroad for a while where the TV was dreadful. We would be overjoyed when a British programme came on. Whilst I’ll admit there is a lot of dreadful TV out there, we still do make some great programmes. Really loved Blandings, the PG Wodehouse adaptation last Sunday. Thought Timothy Spall was brilliant. Hope you’re keeping warm. Just had a walk up to the plot and it’s looking very cold and bleak. Tomorrow it may well be under a few inches of snow.

    • Flighty says:

      Wellie I’m a bit surprised that I don’t miss it.
      I’m certainly keeping warm but ventured out to the plot this morning to take some pictures for tomorrow’s post. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    I agree with you about the TV, I hardly watch it either. It’s great that you get to save money as well. I’m looking forward to the book review, I’m about to start The Life of Pi…I hope I’m in for a treat.
    It’s perishing here too, even with the heating on. I think our snow is due overnight, still it’s pretty if it doesn’t hang around too long…..and turn into black ice.xxxxx

  5. baço chato says:

    I have to say I’m very similar – I’m more of a radio person than a TV one (do you still need a TV license for the radio? I’m not sure any more !).

    I’m looking forward to the snow – especially as I’ll have the luxury of sitting in a warm house looking out on the white snowscape. It’s great to be able to enjoy it when you don’t have to go anywhere in it.

    Enjoy your books – have a great evening and a grand weekend !
    M

    • Flighty says:

      M hello! No a licence isn’t needed for the radio. I’ve always been more of a listener than a watcher.
      I’d rather not have snow but can see why you enjoy it!
      Thanks, and you too.

  6. Joanne says:

    If it was just me to consider I’m sure I would get rid of the tv. Apart from the odd enjoyable series to watch through the year there is little I watch on it.

  7. Jan says:

    Sounds like a wise decision. But if you think UK TV is not very good, you should try it over here – it’s either soap operas or news programmes, not much else. At least with the iplayers you can choose what to watch and when. Happy Reading!

  8. Sheila Kerr says:

    Think you have been eminently sensible not to buy another TV. Most of the programming is cheap filler rubbish, and the majority of licence money must be destined for the BBC pension pot. Can’t stand the way people are encouraged to emote about practically everything in their lives whether it merits it or not – which might be why I love the grim Nordic mysteries at 9pm Saturday on BBC4. But could well watch them on iplayer.

  9. elaine says:

    Well done you, a brave decision to make. Would I miss it if we didn’t have one? I watch less and less as I get older, nothing seems to interest me much I’m afraid – but I do like to listen to Radio 4 whilst I am doing other things. It is snowing here at the moment and it is settling oh dear! Have a good weekend.

  10. Agree with above comments, no-one is that impressed with whats on the TV. I lived without one for a year once and did not miss it, I just read lots of books and enjoyed extra walks with the dogs. Nowadays though, TV is compulsory because of the kids. Enjoy your weekend, I am looking forward to taking some photo’s of the snow, if it settles that is. x

    • Flighty says:

      Sam it’s interesting that you and everyone else here say the same thing.
      Thanks, you too. I took some wintry plot photos this morning for my next post. xx

  11. Debbie says:

    I have tv for the daily news which I watch while having my dinner after work, The Proms which I could listen to on the radio, Wimbledon, and this year the Jubilee and the Olympics. Apart from that the odd series like Downton Abbey or Springwatch and now the fabulous Winterwatch which I could watch on i-player. I drive myself crazy channel surfing but have resolved to switch the thing off and read, and come the spring/summer spend more time in the garden instead of rushing in to see what’s on telly (which is dust mainly). Well done for trail-blazing Flighty x

    • Flighty says:

      Debbie one thing that I’ve never done is channel surf, not that I had many to chose from.
      If I don’t miss it now then I certainly won’t come the spring. Thanks.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    I did the same, Flighty. Whenever it was that our country went digital — 2 or 3 years ago? — I never bothered to get a converter. Here’s to wishing long life to your PC!

  13. Jo says:

    Well done you. I’m afraid we couldn’t do without a tv, they’re all addicts in this house. We have Sky+ so I tape the programmes I want to watch and watch them at my convenience, and without the annoyance of adverts as I fast forward through them. I like a good documentary. We were forecast snow overnight, but it hasn’t materialised. It’s now forecast for this afternoon, so time will tell if they’ve got it right this time.

  14. Good choice Flighty, there is so little on freeview channels worth watching, though I do enjoy “Lewis” – and “Match of the Day”!!

  15. daffy says:

    Do you not get your tv licence fee waived yet? *cheeky grin* I don’t watch hardly any TV, how things change. The telly is mainly for football it would seem. Stay warm. (the iplayer is brilliant)

  16. Liz says:

    I’m sure I could manage well w/out TV, but there are some programs I enjoy, especially on Public television (PBS) here. We don’t pay a license fee, but PBS has the “dreaded” pledge drives twice a year, which is when I switch it off. They get my cheque at the end of every year without having to be prompted. Radio is still the best, besides books, of course!

Leave a Reply

