Plot and potatoes

I spent a couple of hours on the plot Tuesday morning when I hard pruned the grapevine, started tidying up/trimming back the blackberry bush and did some hoeing/weeding.

Since then the weather has got considerably colder with daytime temperatures barely above zero, and feeling much colder in the wind. Snow is forecast for tomorrow so I guess that next week all I’ll be doing is some armchair gardening.

This year I’ll be growing potatoes in an area that I’ve not used before for that.  I bought most of what I want today at the trading shed for £1-25 per kg, spending just £5.  I was thinking about trying the first early Arran Pilot but have gone for Vales Emerald again. I’m growing more second earlies Charlotte and Kestrel than I have previously as they’re my favourites, as well as generally growing and storing well.  I’ll be growing less maincrop Desiree along with some Maris Piper, which is a new variety for me.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Plot and potatoes

  1. snowbird says:

    Yes the chill has kicked in here too/ I shall be following your potatoes with interest as I do love a good spud. I’ve started growing them in containers but think they do so much better in the ground. Good luck with yours.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird some snow here today, which didn’t settle. I like spuds too, which is why I grow plenty. Maybe, but some people do very well with them in containers. Thanks. xx

  2. Debbie says:

    Hello Flighty. I’m growing Arran Pilot for the first time and will be putting them in bags in the garden as this leaves me more room on my allotment plot to grow more peas. x

  3. Joanne says:

    I’m growing Vales Emerald for the first time. Along with my others for this year they shall all be in tubs.

  4. Jo says:

    I’ve gone for Arran Pilot again this year, though they’re not in the allotment shop yet, but they are on order. The weather is much colder up here in Yorkshire than it’s been so far this year, I do hope the snow stays away.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Brrrr! Good time to be armchair gardening. What a good idea to change the potato patch location.

  6. Great Minds think alike, Flighty, I was thinking about Potatoes today as well. Haven’t ordered mine yet. I have grown Charlotte Potatoes two years in a row as they seem to do so well. I might try Cara this year as a maincrop, have you tried them in the past? If so, how did they get on?

    • Flighty says:

      Sam Charlottes are a favourite of mine so grow them every year. Cara are a good maincrop variety, which grow to a good size, but I don’t grow them as they are more prone to slug damage than Desiree. xx

  7. Maggie says:

    Hope they work out for you Mike. Stay warm. X

  8. Bargain potatoes Flighty, hope they do really well for you and remain blight-free. Maris pipers are my favourite potato for roasting.

  9. David Ford says:

    At that price for potatoes Mike no point in going to Poundland my trading hut is cheap but cant match that

  10. annie_h says:

    Snowing here in Huddersfield today though not as bad as they predicted thank goodness.
    I’m growing Pentland Javelin again this year along with Charlotte and Desiree, which I’ve not grown before. Lets hope we have a blightfree summer.

  11. Karen says:

    Plenty of the white stuff here too. I love Charlotte and Desiree, good choice!

  12. elaine says:

    We’ve got snow still lying on the ground but it has turned icey – so reading your post and thinking of the rows of potatoes all in flower in the summer sun has cheered me up a great deal.

  13. I’m arm chair gardening right now as the snow falls outside 🙂 I always welcome the snow as a good mulch for the beds. As long as it’s all melted by April, which often is not the case over here. Best of luck with the potatoes. Cheers Flighty to a great new growing season!

    • Flighty says:

      Allison hello that sounds like a good idea. The ground is still waterlogged here so any snow will just add to the problem. Fingers crossed that it does melt by April there. Thanks. Let’s hope that we all do well this year. xx

  14. Hi Flighty! Are you growing less maincrop to try and avoid the dreaded blight? Never grown Vales Emerald, might give them a go.

    • Flighty says:

      Lindsay hello. Not really, I like both Charlottes and Kestrels which grow to a good size and store just as well as maincrop varieties. I think that Vales Emerald are the best tasting first earlies that I’ve grown xx

  15. Liz says:

    How do you store your potatoes, or have I asked you that before? I think I have asked you, but don’t remember which year! Mine sprout if I keep them stored in the kitchen bin.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz in a plastic bread basket under the bed in the spare room. I check them every few weeks to see that they’re okay. xx

      • Liz says:

        It only occurred to me a few weeks ago, that the garage might be a better place for my potatoes, since it’s cooler in there. It does seem to have helped. I just have to remember where I put them!

Leave a Reply

