Drifting through the marigolds…

is a line in this lovely poem by Rachel Wallace-Oberle which appears to be untitled.

I have found the sweetest bliss

In simple little things like this:

A glossy blackbird on the gate

Singly blithely to his mate,

Bumble bees are plump and bold

Drifting through the marigolds,

Lilac bushes bent to earth

Boasting blooms of lavish girth,

An early dew upon the lawn

Glinting in the blush of dawn.

To my hushed, expectant soul,

Beauty speaks and makes me whole.

Yellow pot marigolds

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Drifting through the marigolds…

  1. Just as we are getting used to the idea of winter or, at least, clinging to the hope that it might eventually arrive and replace deluge with something cold enough to zap a few garden pests . . . you go and make us yearn for summer! (Lovely poem.)

    • Flighty says:

      Lucy I don’t mind it cold and sunny but when it’s wet and windy, as it is, I yearn for summer. It looks like snow is on the way so forthcoming posts will be much more seasonal. xx

  2. polythenepam says:

    plump, bold bumble bees….love it!

  3. Jo says:

    A lovely poem. I’ve had a pair of blackbirds in the garden just recently, I often see one or the other, but see them together less often.

  4. You too Flighty, and thank you, I had somehow managed to miss marigolds off my annual seed order list, fortunately I haven’t placed it yet. A year without marigolds in the garden would be a sad year indeed.

  5. wellywoman says:

    That’s a lovely poem Flighty. I’ve just heard snow is meant to be on the way. I think I may well have to spend the weekend protecting plants. I suppose we were due some winter weather at some point. Lets hope they’ve got it wrong. Have a great weekend and stay warm. WW x

  6. Elaine says:

    What a delightful poem Flighty – perfect for your love of marigolds.

  7. snowbird says:

    What a delicious poem, makes me ache to see a marigold and a plump bee!xxxxx

  8. Joanne says:

    I have many many marigold seedlings in the patch where my red onions are. I shall be relocating some.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    So many sweet little things in the garden, aren’t there?

  10. Doris says:

    Thank you for this poem. I couldn’t agree more!

  11. Liz says:

    Lovely poem. You are increasing my sources for my programs’ “green thumb” verses!
    Marigolds are actually seeds that I have had success with if I direct sow.

Leave a Reply

