Growing something new from seed

I mentioned Chiltern Seeds recently in A seedy post and I received the 2013 catalogue last Friday,  since when I’ve been happily browsing through it.

Listed are seeds from around the world many of which are truly exotic and highly unusual, and range from very small to the world’s tallest recorded tree.

This year the catalogue includes an interesting listing of over 200 British wild flowers, such as Bacon and Eggs and Spotted Cat’s Ear, for anyone wanting to grow native plants.

Much as I would love to try growing some of these I sadly have to be practical so I’ve been looking for a few, new to me hardy annuals that I can sow and grow on the plot.

Layia elegans 'Tidy Tips'These include Layia elegans Tidy Tips (see left) and Melampodium paludosum Melanie both of which are attractive to butterflies and moths.  Then there’s Crepis rubra which as you can see looks like a pink dandelion!

I’m really looking forward to growing something new from seed with these.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Growing something new from seed

  1. Isn’t it great to be looking at seeds again! I have filled a sowing tray and put it under cover to warm up the compost for onion seeds, hoping to sow them soon because we are “suppose” to get mild weather 🙂 Onwards and upwards !

  2. Jo says:

    I love trying something new each year, and it’s always exciting choosing what it’s going to be. Thanks for the reminder about Chiltern Seeds, I was going to take a look when you mentioned it last time but forgot.

  3. wellywoman says:

    Just made my seed orders today. I’m always amazed at how much it all comes too and that was me being restrained and leaving some plants out. I love those new plants you’ve chosen, particularly the pink dandelion look alike. Have a good weekend, WW. x

  4. Sheila Kerr says:

    Have been wandering happily for ages this afternoon, dipping in and out of the blogs listed on the right, including Flighty’s Sofa Flying – and am charmed by the experience.

  5. snowbird says:

    I can’t wait to get something growing from seed too.
    It’s always lovely browsing through catalogues, and this is a great time to do it.
    I love those tidy tips, I haven’t seen them before.xxxxx

  6. elaine says:

    I still have some mixed flower and wild flower seed left from last year – but no doubt I will be tempted to buy some more – it is always satisfying to grow from seed, let’s hope we have plenty of success this year.

  7. janhamblett says:

    You introduced me to More Veg recently and I have received several little packets of seed which I’m excited about sowing this year. The enjoyment I get from growing from seed never leaves me. We just need to get this month behind us and we can start afresh – our 12th season on the plot. I can highly recommend Chiltern seeds too. Thanks for a great blog – happy gardening one and all

    • Flighty says:

      Jan hello, and thanks for stopping by to comment. That’s nice to know. Same here. It’ll be my 6th season. Good for you.
      You’re welcome, I’m glad that you like it. xx

  8. Mildew says:

    I love the names of the flowers! It must be nice to grow something that you know is rare in the wild too.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Isn’t it fun to experiment? I’m looking forward to seeing your progress this year.

  10. Carrie says:

    Tidy Tips make me go ‘eek!’; it’s lovely. I am so hoping we all get a better year this year and can truly appreciate our plants and grow more than ever before xxxx

  11. VP says:

    Happy New Year! I met the owners of Chiltern Seeds just before Christmas and they’re lovely people. I’ve resolved to thumb through their catalogue and order more from them this year 🙂
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      VP thanks, and to you to. I’ve always always been pleased with their service so I’m not surprised. It’s worth placing a small order with them just to receive the catalogue next year! xx

  12. Joanne says:

    Very excited about trying something new this year, however to contain myself I will limit it to three. Veg, flower & a potato.

  13. gaiamethod says:

    I found an amazing tree in the Winter Palace Gardens in Luxor and looked everywhere for the seeds. Lo and behold, the only place I found them was at Chilterns!!! Brilliant. Have fun with your newbies!

  14. Happy New Year Flighty, and happy seed sowing. I love the Chiltern Seeds catalogue, always beguiling. The only problem is keeping my order down to manageable levels…

Leave a Reply

