A damp finish…

The weather through to next week is forecast to continue mostly wet and windy so it looks like being a damp finish to what has been a notably wet year.

The horticultural society trading shed was closed last Sunday, but since it wasn’t raining I went for a walk round the allotments.  I have to say that it was a somewhat depressing sight looking at mostly bare, waterlogged plots.  One bright spot was on mine where I noticed that the crocuses in the long planter have started to appear.

Crocuses appearing

The shed is also closed this coming Sunday so I’ll probably do the same again, especially as it’s looks like it may be the only dry and sunny day before the year ends.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A damp finish…

  1. elaine says:

    We’ve certainly had our fair share of rain this year haven’t we! We’re off to the coast for a couple of days – not sure it is a wise decision considering the weather. Hope you had a good Christmas and wishing you a happy and healthy new year.

  2. Jenny Aspin says:

    It’s certainly very depressing to have day after day of rain. if only that, here in the UK we traditionally experience a range of weather even within a week. These days, we don’t even need to look at the forecast! 😦

  3. Jo says:

    My Crocus are showing too, as are the Iris Reticulata. It won’t be long until lots more shoots will be springing up through the soil too. I think it’s these sort of thoughts which get us through winter.

  4. Yep, wet and windy here too. At least the shortest day is gone and I do notice a 5 – 15 minute stretch already. Roll on Spring 🙂

  5. snowbird says:

    How lovely that your crocus are coming up, an early spring to come maybe?
    I’ve just heard on the news that Britain has just had the wettest year on record. It’s certainly horribly waterlogged around here. Have a wonderful New Year.xxxxx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, we’ve had some damp, too, but hopefully some of it will dry off before Pruning Week! Hope you enjoyed your one dry day 🙂

  7. Glo says:

    Lovely to see that Spring has already decided to take a peek! I have noticed a few little daffies poking out of a pot in my window box, and a few buds on bushes making their presence known. Hopefully you will get some relief from the wetness and damp…we’re having some partly sunny days coming up, and even that helps lift spirits. Good reading weather!!!

  8. wellywoman says:

    It has been miserable. It’s hard to keep cheerful when you wake every morning and hear it raining AGAIN. It is good to see bulbs pushing through but I wonder how long it will take for the ground to dry out before we can start gardening. I heard someone on Gardener’s Question Time say it could take the ground a lot longer to warm up if it is so waterlogged. Still ever the optimist I’m working my way through my seed catalogues and formulating my orders. Have a good weekend. x

  9. I love the boost to the spirits that bulbs poking their heads up provides. I do so hope that 2013 doesn’t try to compete with 2012 for rain though, I’m sure the aquafers are all full again now…

  10. menhir1 says:

    It’s odd, a mixed weather end of year and now, in January, we have 10.5C on the mountains and here, today. It’s about at warm as some early days of Summer here! I am not surprised you are seeing crocuses shoot- I hope they will grow strong. 🙂 xx

  11. Flighty says:

    Menhir it’s typical of our weather to be like this isn’t it. It’s been mild here.
    Fingers crossed for the crocuses. xx

  12. Liz says:

    Crocus appearing in December. A sign of hope! My patch of species crocus usually appear late Feb to early March. I have seen a sign of what I hope are snowdrops and today (Feb 7) I plan to cut some forsythia to force indoors.

Leave a Reply

