Christmas cards

One of the few things that I like about this time of year is both receiving and sending Christmas cards.

It’s nice to pick up various size and colour envelopes off the doormat which are hand written and have proper stamps.  Before opening them I always try to guess who they’re from but one addressed to Flighty postmarked North & West Yorkshire had me stumped. It was from Shedsue, a gardening forum friend, with a thoughtful message.

Many cards are now charity ones, with several I received supporting Cancer Research UK, Macmillan Cancer Support, Oxfam and the RNLI.

Jim, a long time friend and aviation enthusiast, gave me a card with this picture supporting the RAF Charitable Trust .

St  Martin-in-the- FieldsI like this rather different card which supports the work of St.Martin in the Fields, Trafalgar Square, London.

Cards that I sent were from Living Paintings and Thrive.

Don’t forget that for a while after Christmas various shops will take your old cards, and there are charities that accept used postage stamps.

With the cost of postage and changing trends I guess that e-cards will get ever more common, with Greenfingers being one charity who offered them this year. I have to say that I still prefer traditional cards such as one I got showing a lovely robin.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Christmas cards

  1. Jo says:

    I always try to guess who’s handwriting is on the envelope before I open it too. It’s such a shame that postage is so expensive now, I think many people are having to cut down on sending cards this year.

  2. snowbird says:

    I always try and guess who cards are from too. Postage is going up at an alarming rate, given most young people text and facebook each other these days sending cards may be a trend that will end with our generation.xxxxx

  3. Joanne says:

    We don’t receive many cards anymore. We get the e-cards but you can’t stick them above the fireplace can you.

  4. It is/was nice to receive “real” cards, but as ye say the cost of postage is soaring. I get a few real ones from cousins in the U.K. and my own family, grandkids especially, make them themselves, which I like most of all,as time and effort have been put into them. Have a great Christmas time , Flighty 🙂

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I love cards, too. Even the ones that are just the family photo — fun to see how the family grows over time.

  6. wellywoman says:

    I still love getting cards, Flighty. A few people I know have said they don’t want them this year because they are wasteful. This was once I’d written them out and was just phoning to check their addresses. I guess I’ll use them as gift tags or something. I always get mine from the RSPB and recycle them after Christmas. I really like the card of Trafalgar Square, very beautiful.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly good for you. I feel that for many people they’re one of the most welcome, and appreciated, Christmas gifts, and now one of the least wasteful. xx

  7. You’ll need to pretend this is a card in an envelope with a stamp on.

    Happy Christmas, Flighty!

    Lucy

  8. oanh says:

    Have a lovely Christmas, Flighty. I hope you get lots of cards, and lots of visits from robins. I like receiving and sending cards, but I like doing so any time of year, not just Christmas 😀

  9. Glo says:

    Mine may be late…in fact, no may about it! I haven’t sent any out, although I have delivered a few by hand. I made them this year with good intentions to have them finished in time to mail. Anyway, it is delightful to receive mail by post and I agree that there are some lovely choices. Have a very Merry Christmas, Flighty with lots of chocolate covered biscuits. 🙂

  10. menhir1 says:

    I’ve been thinking about your Christmas card observations and found very much the same as you. I did receive three cards that caused a variety of impacts. One was designed by a refugee who is, or was, at a centre in East Anglia. It is a Christmas scene with a different glow to any others I have received.

    I wish you a super Christmas Mr F and a happy, peaceful, healthy and fruitful gardening year in 2013.

    M XXX

  11. Liz says:

    It is only my old friends from school and nursing days in England and Scotland and Canada who send Christmas cards the old-fashioned way any more; handwritten and with lovely stamps. Here in the US, it’s all e-cards or a pre-printed family-through-the-year card with a printed label on the envelope. I have to admit that Jacquie Lawson, who is in the UK, does the most lovely and inventive e-cards for all occasions.

Leave a Reply

