Mostly winter wildlife

Sadly two of the allotment foxes have been found dead in recent weeks one of which was Missy, a long time resident female. We think that there are at least two still around, and last week I certainly caught a glimpse of a dark haired one with a white tipped tail. If there is snow here in the coming weeks then I shall take a walk round the site to look at the fox tracks which will be visible criss-crossing the site.

At home the trees and shrubs are now mostly bare making it much easier to see the birds out front. That’s one advantage of this time of year, especially as I’m spending more time armchair gardening.  I scatter a mix of crushed peanuts, seed, porridge oats and crumbled fat balls on top of two brick pillars and the ground along the path every morning and watch it get eaten throughout the day. I was really pleased to see a pair of great tits earlier in the week, but wonder if I will in future in view of this disturbing article. It’s been good to see two robins rather than the usual one, and two blue tits which never seem to stop flitting about.  An usual sight was a pied wagtail working it’s way along the service road.

Among all the doom and gloom, or dross, in the news I came across this fascinating article – The secret contents of secondhand books, and the comments are well worth reading.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mostly winter wildlife

  1. Jo says:

    It’s so sad about the foxes, it’s especially sad when it’s an animal you’ve got to know and named. It is a disturbing article about the Great Tits. I shall make sure I’m extra vigilant when cleaning my feeders after reading that. What a fascinating article about the second hand books. I’ve never found anything inside any books I’ve bought, though I consider that quite fortunate after reading the comment by chrisinedi.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s Lorna, a plot neighbour, who names them as they live at the back of her allotment. It’ll be a great shame if we do lose the great tits. Cleaning feeders, tables and bowls is important.
      I’ve never found much in any of the books bought either, and I certainly wouldn’t want to find that! xx

  2. snowbird says:

    How awful to find two dead foxes, was it a lack of food or the cold weather? Heartbreaking that you knew them too. Awwww
    How awful re that disease killing of the great tits, the odds are certainly stacking up against wildlife.Lovely that you can enjoy bird watching though, as you say a bonus of winter!

    A very interesting article re what is left in books. I found one recently in a charity shop that had a message in it from everyone who had read it, believe it or not this book had travelled the world for years. xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird probably neither, and with Missy I’d guess that it was just old age but don’t know with the other one.
      Sadly small birds seem to be having a really tough time at present. Yes it certainly helps to pass the time.
      That book sounds like a wonderful find just for the messages. xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    I had an exciting bird-sighting this week too – a pair of Redpolls, which I have never seen before, either in my garden or elsewhere.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Our broadband is about as slow as dial up – has been for nearly two months – so, having problems following the links you gave.

    S-I-L was saying that she had seen a whole range of different Tits in her garden, feeding. I put food out about three weeks ago, including fat balls, before the weather turned icy, and I still have not had to refill any of the containers. I saw a bunch of Thrush feeding one day early in the week, but that was it. I am wondering if there is a Sparrowhawk about, again.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir my sympathies, I hope that it improves soon.
      Either a sparrow hawk, or there’s still plenty of alternative food sources around. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        I would love to think that there are plenty of alternative food sources around. There’s still a quarter of a fat ball, and full containers of peanuts and seeds. 🙂

  5. Really sad about the foxes,especially as you knew them.

  6. Doris says:

    I am really upset to hear about the foxes. Do you think it was starvation? Did they have mange? Sadly I rarely see foxes on Mount Royal anymore after there was an outbreak of mange.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris I doubt if it was starvation, and they both looked in good condition although Missy was getting on in age. I found one on my plot a couple of years ago that had clearly died of mange. It was a truly pitiful sight, which I hope I don’t see again. xx

  7. elaine says:

    I had become quite fond of your plot foxes so was sad to hear your news. The article on the secondhand books was quite enlightening I have only found old till receipts in mine.

  8. Haven’t seen blue tits in years – years and years! Several goldfinches today.

  9. Poor foxes. I would be heartbroken not to see tits of various sorts in the garden any longer. We have longtailed tits here, always delightful, at least one pair of bluetits, and I’m sure in time, as I plant more for the birds to eat, plenty more.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    A shame you won’t have plot visits from these lovely foxes. But perhaps new ones will find you as plotters are such nice welcoming sorts.

  11. Glo says:

    I was so sorry to read about the foxes 😦
    I enjoyed your link to the secondhand books. Some really interesting, and sometimes bizarre, findings. Recently I came across a secondhand book that had an intriguing signature with an address written underneath. With the aid of the internet, I was able to find out about the lady who used to own the book. I was able to contact the people who worked on the family’s genealogy site, and in the process travelled from Ireland to Eastern Canada and then here to Vancouver Island. One of the genealogists lived in Australia and the other in England, so I enjoyed the email communication, and they in turn, learned more about their family history.

  12. Liz says:

    So sad about the foxes.

Leave a Reply

