Plot logs

Apart from the log pile which I mention occasionally there are also three individual logs.

The original, fairly substantial one is near the top north-west corner of the plot and was probably the first plot feature.  It’s now lost all of it’s bark and looks partly burnt, although it isn’t.  I let grass grow along one side whilst next year along the other side I’m going to grow nasturtiums around and over it.

This one is smaller and is partly under the hawthorn.  It’s barely visible as I let the grass grow around and over it. From what I remember it’s not very long or thick but it was heavy and I wonder what tree it’s from.

The last is the only practical one, being a log seat. It replaced an earlier one a couple of years ago as it’s about knee high and rather chunky, making it more comfortable to sit on. Mind you I don’t that often, and I think that the robin makes far more use of it as a perch.

Apart from being features, or more practical, they are all invaluable for various insects. That’s especially true of a log pile, which if you’ve not got one is worthwhile even if it’s just a small one.

Have a good weekend.

[Click on any image to see a larger picture]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Plot logs

  1. wellywoman says:

    Loving the logs. I’ve got a pile in the garden which are slowly rotting down and are often covered in strange looking fungi. Mine are teeming with wood lice but haven’t noticed anything more unusual. Yours look perfect for stag beetles. Hope the sunshine stays with us for the weekend, Flighty. Have a good one. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I’ve had fungi on my log pile as well, and seen lots of small insects. To see stag beetles on it would be wonderful.
      Mostly cold and murky here so far. Thanks, you too. xx

  2. Great idea to grow nasturtiums around it. The logs are a lovely feature and home to many critters 🙂

  3. snowbird says:

    I do like all three of your logs, and it’s great you have one you can sit on. As you say they are invaluable for insects. So many people have overtidy gardens these days, the insects and wildlife don’t stand a chance.
    I have a tree trunk from a willow tree that blew down in a storm 20 odd years ago, it’s been wonderful watching it rot down. It’s also been home to so many different types of insects. I hope you get as much fun as I’ve had watching your three rot!xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. I agree with what you say about overtidy gardens, which are wildlife unfriendly.
      I think that the log in the first picture is from a willow that blew down. Yes I do enjoy looking at them! xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    You’ll have a mini country garden in no time Mr F 🙂 xx

  5. Jo says:

    I have a couple of (very) small logs at the side of my (very) small pond for various insects to use. I’ve noticed lots of fungi on it this autumn, probably due to the damp conditions we’ve experienced. A log can be a great architectural feature, I’m looking forward to seeing your original one covered in nasturtiums.

  6. Debbie says:

    Loving your logs. I have 2 on my plot which are used as seats to rest and watch the veg grow. Yeah right. I plonk myself down and within 30 seconds find myself up and doing something I’ve spotted while I was perched there!

  7. Glo says:

    I was recently reading about the use of logpiles in gardens, which include a stumpery here:
    http://www.discoverwildlife.com/wildlife-gardens/how-use-logs-attract-wildlife

    I’m sure many small creatures inhabit your logs and logpile, and I also am looking forward to seeing the nasturtiums wending their way over the log you have chosen. I know that wasps hide away in logpiles during winter so that’s something to be aware of if you move any. (speaking from experience 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks for the link.
      I’m sure that they do, and I hope that it’ll be as good as I envisage. I’m always wary of wasps, which I do see sometimes. I’ll bear it in mind even though I’ve no intention of moving any of the logs. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Lovely. Perch for the feathered friends, shelter for the insecty sorts, and seating for the plotter!

  9. Mark Willis says:

    Those logs are the sign of a mature plot. I mean, you can see they have been there a fair while. I bet if you lifted them you would find plenty of life underneath.

  10. I love your log perch Flighty. At some point I must blog about my enormous tree stump in the corner of the garden, it is beautiful, though already rotting down well, must be critter heaven. I have a couple of log piles now, secreted away, hoping for hedgehogs, not had any for years and I miss them.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks. I look forward to reading all about that tree stump. Fingers crossed for some hedgehogs. Sadly it’s been years since I last saw any, and never on the allotments. xx

  11. Liz says:

    What a good idea to grow nasturtiums around and over your log.
    Where are the hedgehogs I wonder? My dog Dulcie has three stuffed “snowmen” hedgehogs bought on sale after Christmas. She demolishes them in short order, I’m afraid.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it was a good idea which didn’t work unfortunately. I must try again some time. As to where are the hedgehogs I wish I knew. Dulcie sounds like a bit of a tearaway! xx

Leave a Reply

