New wellies

I’ve had my brown wellies, or rather Derri Boots, for a very long time indeed but sadly they are no longer waterproof and definitely needed replacing.

As with seemingly everything nowadays the choice of wellie boots is simply bewildering, as is the price range. I’ve been asking fellow allotmenteers for their thoughts but, not surprisingly, there was no clear consensus.

Unlike Wellywoman I don’t wear mine nearly all the time as I generally wear work boots when plotting, so I’ve opted for cheap and cheerful with a pair of green Dunlop wellies that only cost me £10.  I bought them this morning at a local casual and workwear clothes shop that I’ve been going to for over 35 years. 

They look out of place compared to the rest of my usual well worn Compo plot attire but with the present unsettled weather I’m sure that they’ll soon have a matching, and muddy, look.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to New wellies

  1. wellywoman says:

    With the weather we’re getting looks like your new wellies are perfectly timed. 😉 £10 is a real bargain and I love the olive green colour of them. It has been so wet here that I’ve been wearing the new wellies even to go shopping. Very stormy here and lots of flooding. I keep anxiously looking out at the greenhouse to make sure it’s OK. Hope you have a great weekend and that the weather is calmer by then. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly a bit late as I could have done with them yesterday. It sure is, and it’s better than black. It’s been pretty bad again hasn’t it. I think that I’d be doing the same.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  2. Well(y) wear, Flighty….;)

  3. Jan Watson says:

    Well done Mike -you’ve given me an idea for my Christmas list. Went to Wellieboots.com and saw a pair of green Hunters going for a song 😀

  4. snowbird says:

    I could do with a new pair too. I’m looking for a pair that are lined inside as wellies sure are cold in the winter. Hope yours do the business.xxxxx

  5. Joanne says:

    With the weather forecast today flighty, I think they have been purchased just in time.

  6. Jo says:

    You’ll look very smart when you next venture down to the plot. It probably won’t be this weekend though, given the forecast. The winds are getting up here and it’s pretty miserable. I’ve got a pair of green wellies, but I tend to wear my walking boots more often than not when I’m at the allotment.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo only up to my knees! I’m hoping to venture there tomorrow as I’ve not been there since Monday. It’s been windy, but dry, here today. I’m the same. xx

  7. Excellent choice Flighty! I tend to garden in workboots too, but I find myself using wellies more here as it is so much quicker to get out of them when I pop inside. I find it very encouraging that a shop has kept going for over 35years, refreshing in these days of identikit HighStreets. I bet there won’t be many websites that last that long, which is where I tend to buy all my stuff!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks. That is one advantage of wellies over boots. There used to be two such shops but one closed earlier this year and I wondered if this one was still open, which thankfully it is. I do shop local wherever possible, or like you online. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, I’m sure they’ll match the rest of your outfit given the wet and mud of these plots! Good deal on the price, too. I tend to wear sandals and have a white band across my feet — “sandal tan”

  9. Jenny Aspin says:

    Ah, not flowery ones, then! 😉

  10. menhir1 says:

    I never thought of you as ‘Compo’…my cyber world has changed.

    The boots look the part! xx

  11. David Ford says:

    I thought new wellies were quite expensive so I hunted the charity shops for some basic Dunlop type and got two pairs of lightly used ones in my size with good soles for £7. I used to use Derries for fishing they were perfect.

  12. Glo says:

    I’m thinking with the amount of rain you are having over there, that hipwaders might be more appropriate 😉 Besides a green thumb, you now have feet to match… and going green has a whole new meaning!

  13. Liz says:

    They reair Last of the Summer Wine every Saturday afternoon and Sunday evening here on Public Television along with other”Brit coms”. I don’t think I’ve seen Bill Owen in new Wellies, or any Wellies, on the show.

Leave a Reply

