A seedy post

I ordered next year’s vegetable seeds over the weekend, and as I only wanted small quantities of a few items I bought them, as I always do, from MoreVeg. For instance I only want to grow a couple of cucumber plants so I ordered the variety Straight Eight four seeds for 50p. As the leaf beet I sowed this year didn’t germinate I’m going to try again with the variety Bright Lights.

The ten packets of seeds came to well under £10 so to take it just over and make it post free I ordered a packet each of sweet peas Frolic and Oban Bay. I received an email on Monday advising me that they’d been dispatched and they arrived on Tuesday. As well as the prompt service and excellent packing this lovely hand written note was included –

Hello…cold and sunny today so I have been in the greenhouse picking the last of the toms under cover in the company of a very brave wren looking to set up it’s winter home…Enjoy, Rachel@MoreVeg. 

For small quantities of seeds I highly recommend MoreVeg.

At the horticultural society trading shed we stock a range of flower, green manure and vegetable seeds from Kings Seeds, which we sell to members at little more than half the recommended selling price. Once we’ve restocked in the new year I’ll be buying a few packets of flower seeds.

I always look forward to receiving the Chiltern Seeds catalogue, which for anyone not familiar with it measures 4 by 12 inches, has no pictures and in the 200+ pages lists some 4000 items.  On the cover it says…Grow something new from seed and All the flowers of all the tomorrows are in the seeds of today. I always place a small order, which with so much to choose from is never easy.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A seedy post

  1. menhir1 says:

    What delightful correspondence. When you say ‘we stock’ at the Horticultural Shed, do you mean there is some kind of seedling co-operative at the allotments?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir indeed it is. Anyone can join the horticultural society, the main benefit then being able to buy seeds and a range of other items at good prices. I’m a committee member and do the seed ordering hence the ‘royal’ we! xx

  2. snowbird says:

    I loved this….Grow something new from seed and All the flowers of all the tomorrows are in the seeds of today.

    That Moreveg site looks great. I know what you mean about not wanting vast amounts of seed, I always feel overfaced with a whole packet, sometimes containing hundreds of seeds. I always grow the lot then race to sort the seedlings and struggle to find suitable places to plant them, so yes, a most SMASHING idea!xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird the second saying is an Indian proverb.
      I think that MoreVeg is an excellent company, and by using them I tend to use all my seeds year to year without waste. xx

  3. You are well ahead,Flighty. That is a lovely gesture to send a note with the seeds. I wonder does MoreVeg send seeds to Ireland because I would also only need a few seeds of each variety!
    Best Wishes,
    Catherine C.

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Loved this post, Flighty. You seem to have gotten the routine down as far as your sources and mix of tried-and-true with experiments. My aunt is bringing me some strawberry plants this weekend. We’ll see if I can keep them alive. I’m told they’re the year-round producing kind.

  5. Jo says:

    I was very impressed by More Veg when I ordered from them. There aren’t many companies these days who give such a personal service. I’ve never ordered from Chiltern Seeds, I must take a look at their website.

  6. Everyone’s pleasure, choosing seeds. Having a little note in – a special bonus.

  7. Maggie says:

    Thanks for the recommendation Flighty, more temptation! X

  8. Glo says:

    That’s a good job done! You had such an abundance of sweet peas, one of my favorites, so I’m glad to see you ordered some more seeds. Here’s hoping you are able to pick huge handfuls of bouquets next year. Hope you have a special place to keep all your seeds! Sometimes I forget where I’ve put them when the time comes to plant 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’d reached the point where I’d started to chop and change so I went ahead and ordered them. Although I’d saved some sweet pea seeds I wanted to try different varieties and picked these which I hope will do well.
      I keep my seeds in a biscuit tin, which I keep with all the gardening books. I’ll take a picture of it and the seeds sometime. xx

  9. Annie_H says:

    Hi Flighty, I remember you recommending Moreveg before so I think I’m going to have a look at their seeds this year. I love choosing which varieties to grow. You’ve definitely got it right grow some of the seeds that you know are tried and tested at your plot and try a few new ones to experiment. I’m going to spend a happy few hours doing that soon.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie yes I have mentioned them a few times. I tend to grow mostly the same things, but sometimes different varieties, with just one or two new ones. Have fun! xx

  10. elaine says:

    Sorry for the delay in commenting on this post – I am getting a bit behind because of the old novel writing. On your recommendation I ordered from MoreVeg last year and most of the seeds were successful. It is definitely better just getting a few of each type, you tend to use them all and waste less.

  11. wellywoman says:

    Will probably order from More Veg again myself. Haven’t got around to thinking about seeds at all yet. Hoping for some time over Christmas to do that, in front of the fire with some mince pies and tea.

  12. Hi Flighty. Ordering seed is so exciting, it is one of my favourite things to do. I am a little addicted to Chiltern Seeds, and am in the process of amassing an order. There’s a lot of garden to fill. Real Seeds are great too, worth a look, though I also love Kings Seeds. Must take a look at MoreVeg, it makes such good sense to buy smaller quantities fresh each year, thank you!

    • Flighty says:

      Janet I think that most gardeners do! I’m always browsing or referring to the Chiltern Seeds one. The others you mention are all excellent companies. xx

  13. Liz says:

    “All the seeds. . .” How lovely! I am always looking for a nature verse or quote to include in each month’s program listing for my garden club. You reminded me of A.A. Milne and Daffodowndilly for this year (and I acknowledged that in the program notes). This proverb will be on the list for next year! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

