All change and happy birthday

Despite what I wrote in my last couple of posts I was pleased to do some final autumn plotting on Monday and yesterday. That included bringing home the gladioli bulbs that I dug up some weeks ago to store, under the bed in the spare room, until next spring.  I don’t normally dig them up but as part of my planned changes I want them all in one group, although I’m still pondering whereabouts that will be.

I’m still slowly sorting out all the annual flower seeds that I collected to save for next year. I just wish that they were all easy like nasturtiums and not fiddly like cornflowers.

I’ve sort of decided what flowers and vegetables I’m hoping to grow next year. I’m aiming for fewer but better, and will be making yet another effort at successive vegetable sowing.

Forthcoming posts will include what I’ll be growing, I shall be continuing the sort of Plot A to Z, which has only got as far as H, and I’ve not forgotten that I’m going to look back over the five years that I’ve been plotting.

I started National Novel Writing Month this morning after breakfast and wrote 1700+ words ending with an ex-policeman’s dead body being found in the boot of his car.

Lastly here’s wishing Glo/Porcelain Rose a happy birthday. I hope that you have a lovely day, and here’s the last of this year’s Pretty Lady roses just for you.  xx

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to All change and happy birthday

  1. snowbird says:

    What a beautiful rose.
    My …the novel does sound exciting, I’m hoping the link takes me too it….I’ll go peep now.
    I know what you mean about cornflower seeds, they are hard to collect, as are poppies. xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. I’m sorry to say that the link is just about the event not the book which I’m hand writing, so you’ll only get brief extracts in the Sofa flying blog posts that I do about it.
      Poppy seeds are okay just snip the heads off into a paper bag and shake gently. xx

  2. Jo says:

    Happy birthday to Glo. Goodness, your book sounds like a gruesome read, I look forward to hearing more, what does that say about me? I’ve just put an order in for some seeds from our allotment society so I’ve pretty much got most of what I’ll be growing next year, unless anything else pops up of course.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s a crime novel but without the graphic details, swearing or violence that many of them contain. All that I’m leaving to the reader’s imagination.
      Good for you. I’ll be ordering most of my vegetable, and a few flower, seeds from MoreVeg as usual. Anything else will be Kings Seeds via the trading shed and a few other from Chiltern Seeds. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    Gladioli bulbs in the boot, or a petal of a cornflower might just be a tantalising red herring 😉

    You have the approach of a natural gardener, watching the soil, observing how things grow best and where; experimenting a tad or two!!

    xx

  4. Glo says:

    Congratulations on a good start to your novel writing, Flighty! Planning for next year’s growing season sounds well in hand. A very special thank you for the birthday rose which is a beauty, and for your good wishes. I am having a great day 🙂

  5. Doris says:

    Your novel writing sounds exciting. More power to you! I hope it will be available to read at some point. (I love good murder mysteries :-))

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Sometimes I wonder if you’ll still be posting pot marigolds into December! Hurray for a great start to your novel — murder mysteries are my favorite. I’m still grinning from reading Glo’s AMAZING illustration and poem about Sammy 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki probably but like this one they’ll be photos I took earlier in the year. I’ve surprise myself with the start I’ve made, and they’re mine too.
      I’m not surprised as it really is wonderful. xx

  7. Mo says:

    At last I have caught up with you, you green-fingered novelist! 😉 Great to hear about your novel and good luck with the seed saving.

  8. elaine says:

    Although I like reading crime novels I wouldn’t have a clue as to how to start writing about it – I don’t think I’m bloodthirsty enough. Good luck with the seed-saving – I have no idea what I will be growing next year yet – you are so organised.

  9. Annie_H says:

    Looking forward to hearing about your plans for next year in future posts, I love the planning ahead and thinking what new (or previously successful) veggies to grow. I’m planning on trying to grow more flowers on my plot next year as well. Less spuds and more blooms.

  10. wellywoman says:

    I’m impressed with your writing. You’ll have a novel by the end of the month, which is so exciting. I’m looking forward to hearing what you’re planing to grow next year. I’ve saving that sort of planning for over the Christmas period.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. I hope to have a book by the end of the month. It’ll be much the same as before but different varieties for some things. That’s a good time to do it. xx

  11. I’m just catching up after a couple of busy weeks away from the laptop – gosh, I’ve missed a lot here! Firstly, happy birthday for the 24th of last month – so sorry I missed it but I hope you had a happy day. Nerine is a flower I’ve only recently discovered and is, I think, very beautiful – how joyful that it flowered on your birthday! Secondly, congratulations on choosing to join the novel writers – I’m very impressed by the commitment you’ve made and look forward to your promised updates! Lastly, your plot is looking so nice (those weeds will soon be seen off); I thoroughly enjoyed seeing your photos and reading about your plans for next year. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro yes I’ve been steadily plodding, or should that be plotting, on. Many thanks, I did indeed. the nerines were still intact on Friday, much to my surprise.
      As a lifelong book buff I’ve often wondered if I could write a novel and at long last I’m trying to find out.
      The plot is looking very bare now making it to spot weeds. It always nice to read that friends like my blog. xx

  12. Liz says:

    You’re off to a good start with your novel. I will be patient to see how the plot (story and garden) progresses.

Leave a Reply

