Plotting, pondering and pottering

On Thursday morning, in the drizzle, I did the last of the plotting jobs on my autumn to do list which was to cut the comfrey then add it to the compost heap.  I then added a layer of leaf/wood chip and I won’t touch it again until I empty it in four months time. Anything to go on it will be kept in bags until I start the new heap.

It’s been a while since I last showed you all round the plot so this is what it looks like now. Click on any picture to see a full screen image.

View 1 is from the roadway at the top north-west corner. The Michaelmas daisies have been wonderful the past few weeks, providing some much welcome colour.

View 2 is halfway along the top edge looking down the path towards the shed.  Over on the right are the tall bare stems of the common fennel which has feathery foliage, yellow flowers and a pronounced aniseed scent that even I can smell.  The dogwood rose red hips and white Michaelmas daisies provide more colour. I don’t know the variety of these daisies so I call them Twinkling stars as the flowers are no bigger than  a fingernail.

View 3 is from the top north-east corner showing the area where I mostly grow flowers.  Note the teasels and lots of self sown seeds that have appeared since I dug it over a few weeks ago. Annual flowers next year will include cosmos, cornflowers, pot marigolds, sunflowers and sweet peas.

View 4 is from the opposite bottom south-west corner with a large clump of crocosmia in the foreground.  At the top left is the wild area with the log pile and washing up bowl pond, and the lesser knapweed and rosebay willow herb which won’t be cut back until the spring. Here I’ll be growing onions, spring onions, lettuce, beetroot, carrots, courgettes and cucumbers.

View 5 is about halfway up the path along the western edge looking across at the pallet patio, shed and compost bin area. The plum tree can be seen growing up through the patio’s left-hand edge. The rose Pretty Lady still has a few flowers on it having been blooming almost continuously since early June. The blackberry bush is on the right which I won’t prune it or tidy up around it until the spring.  In the centre of the picture are the flowering nerines and alongside them to the right is a pot of white flowering lavender. I’ll be growing all my potatoes here next year.

View 6 is taken from the same place but looking up towards the road.  Again the two blue Michaelmas daisies are prominent, as is another clump of crocosmia. The hawthorn is at the centre top, and the stem on the right is an old giant single sunflower. Next year I’ll be growing borlotti, broad and runner beans, sweetcorn and tomatoes here.

Until the end of February or beginning of March, when I empty the compost bin  and start digging again, I’ll now just be pondering and pottering.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Plotting, pondering and pottering

  1. snowbird says:

    Wow, that’s the first time I’ve seen your plot. It’s fantastic. I do love that shed, you have so much going on on the plot. The twinkling daisies are gorgeous, and such a sweet description.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I’m not surprised as it’s ages since I’ve last did a look around the plot post. Thanks. I chose a sentry box shed as it’s only a small half plot about 30 by 60 feet, and I can get everything I use in it. They’re one of my favourite flowers. xx

  2. Jo says:

    Everything’s so tidy, you’ve done a great job getting your plot ready for winter, you’ll be able to sit back and relax now until spring. Your description of the Michaelmas daisies is very apt, Twinkling Stars, it suits them. I love the teasels, I’m sure the birds do too. I may give them a go next year to attract more birds.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo there are still some minor things to do if the weather is okay. Thanks, I just wonder what there actual name is. I grow a handful of teasels at most, and be warned they are prolific self-seeders. I know birds, especially goldfinches, love the seeds but I’ve never seen any on them. Still they are impressive plants and well worth growing. xx

  3. wellywoman says:

    Loved the tour of the plot. Looks very tidy and ready for winter, and those asters are gorgeous. Have a great week but not to much pondering, you’ve got a book to write 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I’m glad that you enjoyed it. It’s also means that I should get off to a good start come next spring.
      Thanks, I guess that I’ll be doing lots of plotting of another kind! xx

  4. elaine says:

    You have obviously worked very hard on your plot – I haven’t done much because it is still full of veg – all my hard work is to come as and when everything is harvested.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I was busy through much of September when the weather was good. The biggest problem was working round still blooming flowers. You’re lucky to still have a plot full of vegetables to harvest. xx

  5. Glo says:

    Lovely to see such a well cared for plot with its splashes of colour. Wouldn’t it be fun if you could have a little cabin on it to live right there! It must feel good to have the plot prepared and ready for spring…when you can start all over again 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, I’m well pleased with it. Mmm I’m not so sure about that as it is rather exposed, and overlooked, there. Yes it is, and I’m hoping for a really good season next year. xx

  6. It’s really nice to tour your plot and see flowers still in bloom even though the veggies are gone. All looking nice and tidy, so plenty time now to write that book 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Cath I’m glad that you enjoyed it. I may not have had much luck with some of the vegetables but all the flowers have been brilliant. Thanks, and yes I guess so. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    Thanks for the tour. It is a nice plot to plan for and work with. It looks like there are quite a lot of ‘plotters’ where you have your allotment. The soil appears to be quite well aerated and of fairly good quality for growing things.

    Don’t forget to let us know about your current burgeoning opus when it has bloomed. 😉 xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir you’re welcome. Yes it is. I thank that there are just over 50 plots on the site which have been in use since the late 1930s, so it’s little wonder the ground is good quality.
      I’m now plotting the book earnestly in my mind, and will be posting about it over on Sofa flying. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Enjoyed that little tour around your plot, Flighty. Always nice to get the lay of the land. So lovely that Pretty Lady has been a good flowering rose for you.

  9. Liz says:

    Your plot tour was fun. Pretty Lady rose. Just checked it out. It’s a David Austin. No wonder I like it! I have his Graham Thomas, Belle Story, and Evelyn in my garden. Pretty Lady must be an abundant bloomer.

Leave a Reply

