A two plot post

Last Monday I pulled up the sweetcorn stems and after stripping the leaves off, which I added to the compost heap, tucked them under the blackberry bush. After I’ve emptied it at the end of February or early March I will crush them, with a brick or hammer, and lay criss-cross on the forked over ground then start adding to the new heap.

The grapes were a disappointment, as although there were more of them than last year they tasted nowhere near as good.  I see that it was a poor year for them.

Typically I didn’t have the camera to hand when two parakeets perched on a nearby sunflower, or when a fox wandered onto the plot then stopped to drink from the dustbin lid pond. However I did catch up with it later on elsewhere.

Again thanks to everyone who commented with kind words of encouragement on Thursday’s Do I or don’t I ? post, and especially to the ever creative Glo for her wonderful post Whodunit?

Rather than use an ordinary A4 pad I’ve treated myself to a Pukka Pad Project Book.  The tentative title is Tailspin, which I’m sure will aptly describe me at some stage. Further posts on my progress, or otherwise, will be over on Sofa flying.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A two plot post

  1. elaine says:

    Just been over to Glo’s blog, I loved the poem – isn’t she clever, and that newspaper cutting was a touch of genius.

  2. Jo says:

    I always enjoy seeing the fox photos you post. I bet there’s lots of wildlife which drink from your dustbin lid, it will be like the local cafe. A shame about the grapes but I think it’s been a bad year for lots of things.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s always good to see and photograph the. I’m sure that you’re right. Yes I was looking forward to them but could see that they wouldn’t be too good. xx

  3. Glo’s post is hilarious. Is the Pukka Pad Project Book the one with the waterproof plastic file pages? If not, you may need to upgrade.

    • Flighty says:

      The Gardening Shoe hello. Isn’t it just. I only bought it as it was on offer and little more than an ordinary A4 pad. It has got plastic file pages so don’t think that I need to upgrade. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    Oooo … tailspin I like it. A real pity about the grapes not enough sunshine for sweetness. There’s a man who sells his at our local farmers’ market but he grows them in polytunnels. I often think I should just polytunnel the whole allotment.

  5. Glo says:

    Hello there, Flighty ~ thank so much for adding the link to my post. I was happy to see some visitors who left comments saying they enjoyed the poem and clipping as well 🙂
    Too bad about your grapes ~ the weather was not very kind this summer over there. Hi to Fox Newton!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome. It’s good to see that others enjoyed it as well.
      Yes the weather – too cold, too wet and not enough sunshine – made it a difficult year. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    You have the most interesting visitors! Maybe a webcam is the thing 😉 Glo is ever inventive. I love her sense of humour.

  7. Ellie says:

    Just catching up – glad you decided to try your hand at the novel writing. I shall be interested in seeing how you fare, with a view to taking up the challenge next year, perhaps. Bad luck about the grapes – as you say, the lack of sun was somewhat ruinous for ‘exotics’ like that. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks, I really couldn’t put off doing yet again. I’ll be keeping a note of how I fare, and will post accordingly.
      Thanks again, I hope that they’ll be okay next year. xx

  8. snowbird says:

    What a wonderful little fox. I wish we had one around to observe. Well, good luck with the writing, I look forward to reading extracts….xxxxx

  9. Liz says:

    What a funny poem by Glo, and an interesting piece about J.K. Rowling preferring to write by hand.

Leave a Reply

