Do I or don’t I ?

As a lifelong book buff I have often wondered if I could write a novel. Like most people I never have but once again I’m thinking about giving it a try.

Every November people take part in the National Novel Writing Month which requires participants to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  I’ve been a member there for a few years but so far have never attempted it.

It’s means averaging almost 1700 words a day which compares to my rather meagre twice weekly posts here which rarely exceed 250.

Thankfully I’m not short of plot ideas, and if I do try it will be a crime novel, more cosy than noir, set in the present day and featuring my lifelong interest in aviation.  As I’ve done no prior preparation it will be real seat of one’s pants writing that’s for sure.

You may be surprised to read that if I go ahead I will handwrite it on narrow feint A4 paper using either a classic black BiC biro or Pentel pencil. I’ll do that as I use a PC so wouldn’t be able to write whilst sofa flying, in bed or soaking in the bath.

So the question is do I or don’t I?  I have two weeks to decide, and if it’s yes I will do at least one weekly How I’m doing post over on Sofa flying to keep you updated. 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Do I or don’t I ?

  1. Maggie says:

    I think if you will regret not doing something more than you will regret doing it, then just do it!

  2. Jan Watson says:

    Just do it Mike :o)

  3. I think you should go for it,Flighty. If you never try, you will never know!

  4. snowbird says:

    I think you have everything to gain and nothing to lose by giving it a go. xxx

  5. Jo says:

    Definitely give it a go. I don’t think you can beat a BiC biro, I always have a packet of them in the house, though they often go walkabouts, especially once the kids get hold of them.

  6. elaine says:

    I think its a great idea – I have often thought about it myself – if you give it a go I will – then we can give each other moral support – what do you say!

  7. David Ford says:

    As my FB comment says go for it, not sure about the Bic though it maybe too slim you need something comfortable to hold to avoid writers cramp, Pentel would be better, good luck

  8. deyank says:

    I’d go for it, Mike. It took me over 30 days, but I wrote a novel and published it on Booksie.com. Here’s the URL:
    http://www.booksie.com/romance/novel/tom_oldman/wanderlust/chapter/1

  9. Jenny Aspin says:

    Definitely do it, Flighty. I did it about six years ago and really enjoyed it.

  10. Aegean Jan says:

    I will make sure you do it :))

  11. Glo says:

    A most interesting post that stirred up my creative muse as well…as you might see if you check out my posting…you are a good sport, right? 😉 I enjoyed reading your informative link to ‘seat of one’s pants’ with its aviation connection. National Novel Writing Month has come around quite quickly it seems, and has got you thinking of possibilities. I look forward to finding out your decision re “Do I or Don’t I?

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks from this good sport for your brilliant creative post. As you say it’s comes round far too quickly but I can’t put if off again as I’ve done the past few years.
      That ‘seat of one’s pants’ link was a good find wasn’t it.
      My decision is definitely ‘I do’. xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Quite the challenge, Flighty!

  13. daffy says:

    The authors out there will be up in arms! lol I think they believe the NaNo to be belittleing (Which I can’t spell!) to the ‘real’ novel writers. (Not MY opinion I hasten to add!) Of course you will do it… with style… You should get Bill involved too if he isn’t already. I have often given this challenge some thought but never taken the plunge. I think you need a level of committment that I lack!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello, I do hope not, especially as most Nano writers do just for fun.
      I know that you’ve thought about it as I’m sure it was you who originally blogged about it back in 2008! I think that it needs time more than anything. xx

  14. menhir1 says:

    Hello,

    If you’re cogitating here in a pretty public domain, whether to do or die, I think you have already made your decision. Good luck with the hand writing and the feint A4 paper.

    I guess you’ll either have to make another page on this blog to serialise your opus, or open up another blog.

    xx and an extra one X

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir yes you’re right of course, I really just wanted to see what friends here thought about it. Thanks, and I’ve treated myself to a Pukka Pad Project Book to do it in.
      I’ve plenty of unused blogs, but as for serialising it….
      Thanks! xxx

  15. wellywoman says:

    I’ve never heard of that but it sounds great. I’m pleased to hear you’re going to give it a go, sounds the perfect sort of challenge for winter. I look forward to hearing about your progress. I do a lot of handwriting too. Sometimes I find things flow more easily on a pad than on the computer and at this time of year it means I can sit on the sofa in front of the fire rather than in my chilly study. WWx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it’s a great idea but doing it is something else. At least November should fly by, perhaps too quickly if I’m struggling. I used to write a lot more than I do. I agree and do the same. xx

  16. oanh says:

    I’m a bit late to the party and I think the general consensus seems to be Yes! Please do! You should! Nay, you must! but I wanted to make sure you also have my OhMyGoodnessThatisAGreatIdeaPleaseDoIt comment 😀 so, YES!

    And handwritten? Retro! Go for it!!

  17. Flighty says:

    Oanh hello, and yes it is. I’m going to do it, and have pen and paper poised. xx

  18. Annie_H says:

    As Oanh says I think thats a resounding yes off everyone so not much more for me to add apart from good luck and I look forward to hearing how you are getting on!

  19. Liz says:

    I’m really looking forward to what would seem to be a done deal. 1,700 words a day and hand-written! My problem would be that I can’t decipher my scrawl. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

