Talking of shorter varieties

The cosmos have  being doing really well over the past few weeks. The varieties Purity and Sensation are quoted as growing to three feet but mine are a good one to two feet higher than that so have certainly needed staking.

I see that the Sonata varieties only grow to two feet so I may try these next year, and they have an RHS AGM.

Talking of shorter varieties I have kindly been given a packet of Sunflower Music Box Mixed which only grow to around two and a half feet.

This yellow one was one of this year’s tall unknown varieties.

Among the various pot marigolds I spotted this yellow one with bright red pinheads in the centre.

As I’ve mentioned recently I have some Pygmy Formula Mixture seeds which grow to less than a foot, which sounds ideal for planters and pots.

Have a good week.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Talking of shorter varieties

  1. Jo says:

    I didn’t grow any sunflowers this year which is probably just as well as no doubt the slugs would have had them along with most other things I grew this year. I’ve picked up a sunflower collection for next year, five different varieties, so I should have a good selection if the slugs leave them alone.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo the slugs got all the ones I sowed, it was just a few self-seeders that grew for the parakeets to then chomp. Like you I hope to be growing various varieties next year. xx

  2. bettysquash says:

    I grew ‘Sweet Sixteen’ cosmos and that has grown to around 4ft. A bit too tall for the position it’s in but the flowers are lovely so I don’t mind. I’ll try Sonata next year, thanks for the tip.

  3. snowbird says:

    Cosmos are one of my favourite flowers, they always grow so well and need very little care. Mine have done well this year too and have grown really tall.

    That marigold is lovely, it’s great to still have a little colour at this time of year.xxx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I think it’s especially nice to have some of the shorter sunflowers. Unless they’re grown in a sizable stand, they look kind of gangly and lonely.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’ve only grown taller ones before but I agree with you. The bushy, multiheaded ones are okay on their own but the giant singles look better in groups. xx

  5. Small sunflowers make sense. Sunflowers are wonderful but the tall kinds can be over-bearing.

  6. wellywoman says:

    I grow Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’ which is about 5ft tall at the moment. They have suffered a little in some stormy weather earlier in September. I will do more to support them next year. I grew ‘Sonata mixed’ last year and they are a good plant. For me they don’t work as well for cut flowers but if you’re not growing them for that I would recommend them.

  7. disgruntled says:

    I’ve never managed to grow Cosmos, which is a shame because I love the chocolate one (well, who wouldn’t?)

  8. Ellie says:

    I love those Cosmos varieties, but like you, I have never known them to grow less than four feet tall. The foliage is so light and feathery though, that they often grow up amongst other plants and get some support that way. Like you, I shall be looking out for shorter varieties next year – the wind has decimated everything these past two weeks. x

  9. Annie_H says:

    I grew some Cosmos this year but they were all foliage and no flowers, must have over fed them?! I will try again though as the bees love them. I love the pot marigold, one of my favourite flowers, mine are still going strong at the allotment and really brighten it up.
    I managed one tall sunflower this year the only one to survive the slugs but I do love them and the shorter version looks a good idea too.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie unlike vegetables most flowers don’t need feeding and will then flower much more profusely. Pot marigolds are mine too, and will keep going until we get frost.
      Lucky you, I really missed having no tall singles. The shorter multi-headed ones are better looking. xx

Leave a Reply

