Another plotting post

Further to my last post I agree with Snowbird and Sam that the mystery flower is a rudbeckia of some kind.  Thanks to everyone for having a guess. 

I’ve since found this, smaller one which was only about a foot high.

I replanted a dozen young strawberry plants on Monday morning in the drizzle, making good use of my new border spade.  They’ve now got plenty of space and will get any sunshine all day long so I’m hopeful that they’ll do well next year. That is if the fox stops digging around as it has done.

The second of the three Michaelmas daisies is now flowering. It’s an aster novi-belgii Lady in Blue, a compact plant noticeable for it’s intense blue-purple semi-double flowers.

Although it’s doing well I’m probably going to move it in the spring as it’s really in the wrong place.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Another plotting post

  1. Joanne says:

    I’m waiting for the postman to bring me some new strawberry plants. I am determined to make home made strawberry jam next year.

  2. I have a new batch of strawberry runners in pots, I think we will have to put them in a raised bed in the tunnel for next year as the hens and ants love strawberries.

  3. snowbird says:

    Whoohoo!!! I was right!!!! Smashin!!

    Like you I was planting strawberries but not in the drizzle so many of them wilted. They have perked up now. I had tiny strawberries this year which was surprising given the rain we’ve had.
    Ooohhhh, you have a fox….I’d be in hiding watching it! Naughty guy digging though.
    I do like your michaelmass daisies, they are a gorgeous colour. I have the white ones which are very hardy and come up in abundance each year.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird well done. There are foxes resident on the allotment site so I often see them around. There used to be one we named Digger for obvious reasons, he was a real nuisance.
      Thanks, I’ve also got some white ones that are just about to start flowering. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    My strawberries are fruiting again, crazy plants. Unfortunately with all the rain the slugs are getting to them before me 😦 My asters are in full flower this year. I always forget how tall they get. Some probably aren’t in the right place to be honest but still they are a lovely shot of colour at this time of year and the bees love them. Hoping for some sun this weekend. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly there were some flowers on the older ones that I dug up. The asters as shown in the header are around five feet tall, and buzzing with bees.
      I hope so to after all the rain yesterday. xx

  5. Jo says:

    I really need to get my strawberries tidied up. I promised myself that when I made a new strawberry bed, I wouldn’t let it get out of hand as it had before. I’d better get cracking with it.

  6. David Ford says:

    your getting more done on the plot than I am Mike my soil has been ever so claggy due to the huge amount of rain here in Eastbourne this month

  7. Glo says:

    Sounds like the plot has been nicely arranged for the next growing season. Always pleasant to have flowers still appearing at this time of year. Have you drawn out where you have put everything, or are you just looking forward to surprises when spring finally comes and shoots start popping out of the ground in different places? After weeks of sunshine, fall has definitely arrived here with colourful leaves and rain! The salmon, trying to spawn, will appreciate the rain in the rivers and streams as they start to head for ‘home’.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s looking good so far. It sure does, and they’ll be okay until the first frosty night.
      I have drawn out a plot plan which still needs some ‘fine tuning’, especially for the flowers.
      Colourful leaves and salmon spawning really does herald the arrival of fall doesn’t it. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Still flowers! And lots of colour, too. You’ve certainly planned ahead for strawberries!

  9. menhir1 says:

    If you do not like strawberries, do you think the fox will oblige you in keeping the crop down? Sods law has it, that the odds would be in your favour. 🙂

  10. menhir1 says:

    Our birds go for the gooseberries, notwithstanding loads of protective netting, usually two layers of it! xx 🙂

  11. Liz says:

    Michaelmas daisies. I have to find a variety that is not too much of a takeover artist. We are putting a butterfly garden in our neighborhood park, next to the primary/elementary school. Asters are one of the best plants for autumn and providing nectar for pollinators. Lady in blue looks like a possible choice.

Leave a Reply

