Cheap and cheerful

I have two forks, one which was given to me when I took on the plot and a lighter, smaller border fork which I got with gift tokens that I was given. I was also given my spade which is okay but is a bit heavy, and large, at times so I’ve been meaning to get a border spade for a while now.  I’m glad that I didn’t as this morning at the trading shed I spotted one among the tools that have been donated to the horticultural society to sell, with the money going into the charity fund. Apart from needing a good clean it’s in almost perfect condition, and I reckon that it’s a cheap bargain at £2. It should prove most useful, maybe starting tomorrow when I’m hoping to move the strawberry plants.

Does anyone know what this cheerful looking flower is which has appeared. It’s 18″ high and 4″ across the petals. I think I do but I’ll wait to see what you think.

I’m surprised to see it as I’m sure that it’s not something that I planted or sowed.

[Click on the picture to see a larger image]  

I thought that it was time to change the yellow pot marigolds header to something more autumnal such as Michalmas daisies, which are now in full flower.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cheap and cheerful

  1. snowbird says:

    It looks to me like rudbeckia……
    Delighted you got your border fork for two quid, smashin buy that!!!
    I’m just about to move all my strawberries too. This year I’ve had lots of foliage but awfully small strawberries. xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I’ll let you know in my next post. It was indeed and I put it to good use this morning when I moved a dozen strawberry plants in the drizzle. xx

  2. elaine says:

    Could be a gaillardia Flighty – I could do with a border spade myself – might have to pay a visit to your trading shed – see what I can pick up. Love your new header.

  3. Jo says:

    What a bargain. I often find that second hand tools, especially older ones, are more well made than some tools which can be bought today. Is the flower a Gazania?

  4. nikkipolani says:

    I think it’s gaillardia, too. Great find amongst the donations!

  5. I have no idea what the flower is but it’s rather lovely.

  6. Mark Willis says:

    I have a border fork, and a border spade, and I love them both. I am not a big person (for a man) and my garden is small too, so the smaller tools are completely appropriate for me. Mine cost even less than your £2, Flighty, because Jane won them for me!

  7. Flighty says:

    Mark I’m not surprised as I certainly use the border fork a lot. Yours were a real bargain. Cheers.

  8. I place my bets on the mystery flower being a Rudbekia. I was given some seed by Debbie this year ‘Marmalade’ and the heads grew large on those too.

  9. I love my border fork and spade, I wish I’d bought myself them years ago, but I wish even more I had managed to pick them up for £2 a pop, what a bargain!

  10. Liz says:

    What exactly is a border spade? I have a spade that is pointed and lightweight. Got it for a song at the local chemist/drugstore 30+ years ago. Drugstore has gone, but the spade is still my most useful gardening implement. Looking forward to seeing what the mystery flower is. Promise I won’t peek, but I’m hazarding a guess at gaillardia.

  11. Flighty says:

    Liz it’s a smaller, lighter spade often called a ladies spade. I use mine more than the bigger, heavier one. I think the mystery flower was a gazania. xx

Leave a Reply

