More bulbs

As I’ve been working round the plot this month I’ve been trying to remember where the various of groups of bulbs, mostly daffodils, are. That’s to avoid digging them up or, worse still, chopping them with the spade or spearing them with a fork.  Next year once they’ve finished flowering I may dig some up to regroup them, and also note where they all are.

This morning I treated myself and bought a dozen daffodil Unsurpassable which as you can see is a classic all yellow variety.  These will go in front of the log up in the top north-west corner where I’ve recently cleared a suitable spot.

I also bought a similar number of narcissi Segovia which I’m still deciding where to plant.   

Some weeks ago I noticed that the nerines still had leaves but they were dying back, but more recently they had completely disappeared.  When I looked yesterday I was most surprised to see that several flower stems had appeared.

Fingers crossed that they’ll bloom soon and not suffer the vagaries of the weather.

Happy gardening!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to More bulbs

  1. Jo says:

    I really must get some bulbs in the ground. I’ve got a few dotted here and there, but I’m always envious when I see other people’s daffodils poking through the soil and always promise myself that I’ll get some for the following year. I’m going to put it on my to do list.

  2. Lucy Corrander says:

    Autumn is such a good time for hope.

  3. Mark Willis says:

    I planted my bulbs today: I expect the foxes will dig them up tomorrow…

  4. David Ford says:

    I have bought three different shades and type of tulip to plant next month will cover with a frame to keep the foxes out

  5. I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way not to dig them up is to use bulb baskets.

  6. snowbird says:

    I do love to see the first daffs peeping from the ground in spring. I must get some more in as well. I know what you mean about the dangers of chopping bulbs in half, I always forget where mine are. xxxxx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, yes. The perils of not remembering where your daffs are. I can relate as I planted a bunch of them last year and now want to squeeze in an alstroemeria or three. Good luck to the nerines!

  8. elaine says:

    I have all my bulbs to buy yet – I don’t plant many in the soil for the very reason you mentioned – I tend to keep all mine in containers so I know where they are. I love the look of the Segovia Narcissus that you chose – might look for that myself.

  9. Glo says:

    Thanks to your timely post, I bought 20 King Alfred bulbs today, and will put them in a large pot I think. Although I love tulips as well, they get eaten by deer, so there’s not much point in planting them. Good luck with yours…it’s always nice to think of and prepare for Spring.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo they’re a lovely traditional daffodil which will look great in a large pot. I like tulips but they don’t do as well, and there’s a question of room.
      Thanks, and yes it is. xx

  10. Liz says:

    I’ve never heard of a nerine, so Googled it. That led me to nerine bowdenii and the person for whom it was named–last name of Cornish-Bowden. I knew a Joyce Cornish-Bowden in Canada back in the late 1960s. Must have been a relative of the woman of “nerine bowdenii” fame! Six degrees and all that.

Leave a Reply

