The difference between…

last week and this has really been quite noticeable.

Then I was happily plotting whilst this week I’ve spent much of it indoors staring out of rain streaked windows.  I’ve only been to the plot once since Saturday and that was just to see what, if any, damage the rain and wind had caused. Sadly I found that several sunflowers had been floored.

Friend’s posts have also been reflecting on the various aspects of autumn. I particularly like Elaine’s Indian Summer and Glo’s Holding on and Letting Go.

At home I’m slowly sorting out all the flower seeds that I collected. It’s also been good to see the birds out front returning to eat the food that I put out every morning. So far I’ve seen blue tits, dunnocks, magpies, robins and feral & wood pigeons.  There’s also a squirrel which has a normal bushy tail, unlike last year’s.

I guess that most gardeners will now be happy to see the back of this growing year and start to look forward to a rather better one in 2013.

Have a good weekend!

PS…and over on Sofa flying I’ve no excuses…!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The difference between…

  1. Jo says:

    I must admit that I won’t be sad to see the end of this growing year, so little success and too many failures. Still, we should be thankful for what we have managed to grow in all the weather that’s been thrown at us. It’s been dreadful again this week, there’s floods in parts of Yorkshire not too far from here. Hope you manage some time at the plot this weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’m not surprised, as I’ve had as little luck as you have. We should indeed.
      It’s not been too bad here thankfully unlike your part of the country. Thanks I hope to get some plotting done tomorrow and Saturday. xx

  2. It’s been more like February than September; I’ve had the heating on in the evenings and, like you, only ventured down to the veg patch to inspect the damage. Although it feels as though this year has been challenging, looking back through my photos there have been some lovely moments and a few successes. Next year, we’ll be better prepared for the vagaries of the weather! Wishing good gardening weather for you at the weekend, Caro x

  3. wellywoman says:

    There have been positives this year and I’ve learnt quite a bit about my plot which I’m sure will make next year more successful (well I hope so). It’s been incredibly wet AGAIN here but we haven’t suffered any flooding fortunately. Looks like the weather this weekend nay be a little better though so I hope you get the chance to get to the plot. Have a great weekend, WW x

  4. elaine says:

    Except for a couple of days it hasn’t been too bad here – I have been working in the back garden like a demon trying to get the borders sorted whilst I can – it looks worse now than when I started. As for the growing year – well it has been a bit disappointing compared to other years and I have missed out on quite a few harvests like raspberries and plums but not too bad otherwise. The goldfinches have been going bananas on the feeders, up to 20 at a time, emptying a whole container of sunflower seeds every day (it’s costing us a fortune). But it’s still lovely to see them.
    p.s. thanks for the mention – have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine same here thankfully. No doubt it’ll all look better in the end. I’m sure that we all didn’t do too bad with some things. You’re so lucky to see goldfinches like that as they’re such pretty birds, and blow the cost.
      You’re welcome it’s a lovely post. Thanks, you too. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, yes, so nice to have Glo back 🙂

  6. menhir1 says:

    The seasons are telling you it is time to give you and the soil a break; feed it up and get it ready for plotting next year.

    xx

  7. I’ve just finished drafting a post about my allotment, and there are some very similar themes. It is frustrating; my best cure is to curl up somewhere cosy with a cup or glass of something comforting, and a seed catalogue or two and dream of next year!

  8. snowbird says:

    Awwww, how sad to see a downed sunflower. The weather is truly dismal…..I do hope we get a better season next year. My, you do see a lot of birds…..smashin that!xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird yes it’s always a shame to see that happen. I think that we’ve all good our fingers crossed for next year. That’s only the most common ones that I see out the front window, there are others both there and on the allotments. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Many thank for the mention, Flighty! I also enjoyed the link to the Indian Summer post. Still enjoying a lovely fall here, even though it did rain yesterday. Although your summer was iffy, and perhaps downright yucky ;), you did grow some lovely flowers and food to eat. It would have been much better though, if you were treated to beautiful summer weather… I guess that’s what makes like so interesting, one just never knows what the weather will bring!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo you’re most welcome. Good to see that you’re enjoying the time of year there.
      Yes on reflection I did didn’t I. It could always be better, but what with the vagaries of the weather… xx

Leave a Reply

