Into autumn

Yesterday morning I went to harvest the last two sweetcorn cobs only to find that one had disappeared overnight.  Looking at the gnawed stem, and later finding the stripped cob over on Joe’s plot, I reckon that it was a grey squirrel.  There are plenty around and although they generally seem to keep near the site edges, where the trees are, they do venture out onto the plots.

Some of the flowers are now looking past their best like this perennial cornflower. It’s been flowering again but, as you can see, the leaves are starting to get mildewy.  It’ll die back soon but will be one of the first plants to grow and flower again next year.

Thanks to the parakeets most of the sunflowers are looking rather ragged but this was one exception.

This is a double cosmos, which I think is probably the variety Rose Bon Bon. It’s not one that I’d choose to grow, preferring as I do the single white variety Purity, some of which are still flowering and also have buds on them.

The week ahead is looking rather unsettled, with plenty of rain, so I guess that now we’re properly into autumn I’ll be doing less plotting and more sofa flying.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Into autumn

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Too bad about that corn — I can almost imagine that squirrel sneaking through to your plot looking for the good stuff!

  2. Mark Willis says:

    I see squirrels in my garden almost daily, but I have never seen them cause any damage to my crops. They seem much more interested in snaffling the seeds people put out for the birds. Anyway, my Sweet Corn was so pathetic that any self-respecting squirrel would have just walked on by!

    • Flighty says:

      Mark we’ve also got foxes, parakeets and mice to contend with. I was really lucky with the sweetcorn as it seems that people didn’t do well with it this year, which isn’t really surprising. Cheers.

  3. Jo says:

    What a shame about your sweet corn. At least the squirrel left you with the last cob, I hope you enjoyed it. The flowers are all starting to wind down now, autumn is definitely here.

  4. Joanne says:

    Autumn is starting here thats for sure. I will need to find some time to spend in the garden.

  5. elaine says:

    It has been a stinker of a day here – what a shame after such a lovely day yesterday. My garden is definitely starting to wind down – I shall miss being outside. Pesky squirrels – still live and let live I say. You could always pinch his nuts.

  6. Maggie says:

    You have my sympathies over your corn Flighty, flaming squirrels! X

  7. Mo says:

    We were lucky to have a dry weekend, so quite a few chores got done.We had also planned to sample our meagre sweetcorn then forgot! We have no squirrels though, so I’m hoping they are still waiting to be picked 🙂

  8. VP says:

    We have plot badgers, so sweetcorn growing’s stopped. They go mad for it! Nice to see your sunflower on this miserable Monday morning 🙂

  9. My resident fox got the last of my sweetcorn,ate half of it and moved on to another,at least I had some halves to munch on.

  10. menhir1 says:

    How did you feel about finding a demolished sweetcorn; the one you were saving?
    The cosmos rose bon bon does look sweet.
    Autumn was once heralded by cooler temperatures, a change in the colour of trees and bushes, amongst other things. Now it is heralded by rain.

  11. katzideas says:

    I just like being out of doors

  12. Glo says:

    Hi there Flighty! And into Autumn we go ~ Summer weather in the UK seems to have been a mixed bag of all sorts! I hope I don’t jinx it, but we are experiencing a remarkably beautiful beginning to Autumn. Yes, it has chilled off somewhat and the nights come sooner, but it has been dry and clear, and the leaves are burnishing just so. Now watch what happens! Anyway, I have enjoyed my quiet perusal of your posts and enjoyed reading about your recent forays in your allotment. Some good eating and lovely blooms. Sorry to say, but I think it is kind of cute that the squirrel ran off with your cob…I can picture Quigley doing exactly the same. I liked Elaine’s solution… good luck with that … 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Glo hello! We do indeed, not that we’ve had much of a summer here. I like autumn so will enjoy the coming weeks, regardless of the weather.
      It’s nice to know that you’ve been enjoying my posts and plotting forays.
      At least the squirrel stripped the cob bare and didn’t just nibble at it here and there. As to Elaine’s solution… xx

  13. snowbird says:

    Oooooh….NAUGHTY squirrel!!! You do still have plenty of colour. I used to have the perennial cornflower, I don’t know where it has disappeared to….must get me some more. xxxxx

  14. Flighty says:

    Snowbird I always have mixed feelings when they do things like that. Yes which should continue until the first frost. I was thinking of growing those but will stick to annual ones. xx

Leave a Reply

