Feathers and fruit

Further to my last post I’ve been approaching the plot rather stealthily in the hope of photographing a ring-necked parakeet chomping on the sunflowers.  No such luck so far but yesterday this one that I disturbed only flew off to a nearby tree.

This morning’s feathered highlight was a grey heron flying, rather sedately, around overhead the allotments on its way from or to the adjacent ecology park pond.

I’ve been plotting every morning again this week and when I’ve stopped for a break I’ve been enjoying some blackberries to go with my mug of water.  I’ve also been bringing plenty home as well, and as you can see there’s still more to come when they ripen.

Fingers crossed I’ll soon be enjoying some grapes as well which are just starting to ripen.  The one plant I have has grown really well this year covering as it does the back and one side of the shed. There are at least several bunches like this that I can see.

Surprisingly I’m still picking the Golden Queen tomatoes, like this one, as they ripen. There’s been no sign of blight on these and I wonder if the fact that I haven’t watered them for weeks has anything to do with it. Anyway I’m definitely growing them again next year.

After three dry, and mostly sunny, weeks it looks like the weather is about to change as there is rain, heavy at times, forecast for Sunday and Monday.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Feathers and fruit

  1. elaine says:

    Love your feathered friends – a bit more colourful than the usual sparrows. My grapes are at the same stage as yours yet are grown in the greenhouse, must be a nice warm spot you have them in. The blackberries round here are very slow to ripen only had one picking so far. Have a good weekend yourself.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine sadly I rarely see sparrows here. Quite a lot of plotholders grow grapes outside here. I think that my blackberries have almost finished! Thanks, you too. xx

  2. Mo says:

    Wow! Look at those grapes! It’s all very exotic with your parakeet too 🙂 We’ve had a dismal day and, as you say, the weekend looks dreary too. I guess you’ll be sofa flying – enjoy!

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I hope that taste as good as look. It is rather isn’t it. It’s been okay here but looks like it’s all set to change with plenty of rain to come. Thanks. xx

  3. Joanne says:

    Very exotic wildlife flighty, and i got stupid excited when i spotted greenfinches on the bird feeders in my garden.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Goodness me! Are we living on the same Island? Parakeets, grapes…..

    Herons we see and there are plenty of Geese flying in formation, to be seen in our skies.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Lovely happenings on the plot — and well done with the parakeet shot.

  6. alison says:

    are the grapes new addition to the plot this year? have a wonderful weekend! xx

  7. Jo says:

    A lovely photo of the parakeet. You must be used to them now, but I would get super excited if I saw anything as exotic as that around here. Glad to hear that you’re still picking tomatoes. I’ve given in and removed all mine from the plants, I doubt they’ll ripen out there now so I hope to help them along on the windowsills. The rain has already started here, such a miserable day we’re having today.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. I see, and/or hear, them most days. I think that the tomatoes are just about done now, especially with the weather changing from tomorrow. Sorry to see that yesterday wasn’t very nice. xx

  8. wellywoman says:

    I love the idea of you stealthily creeping around your plot trying to capture the parakeets on camera. I try with my garden birds but rarely manage it. I’m so impressed with your grapes. You must have a little microclimate going on there. My blackberry bush is only in its first year so I’m not getting many fruits yet. They are only just starting to ripen but a neighbouring plot holder has been very generous with theirs.

    I had seen the rain forecast. I plan to get as much done tomorrow as possible whilst it is still dry. Have a great weekend, WW. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I sometimes think that I should just sit and wait for them to appear. The grape does get the sun all day long which must help. Your blackberry will be good next year now that it’s established.
      Sunny, but cool, here today, but plenty of rain tomorrow onwards. Thanks, you too. xx

  9. Doris says:

    Great parakeet shot and those blackberries and grapes have my mouth watering! 🙂

  10. I’m envious of your blackberries, the ones around here are small and extrememely tart. I am hoping for better next year! Love the parakeet, a very exotic gardening companion.

  11. Flighty says:

    Janet the blackberries are just about finished sadly. Yes they’re such wonderful birds, albeit a bit pesky. xx

  12. snowbird says:

    WOW! Respect re your grapes! Most impressive! My toms are all bursting, too much rain and over-ripe I think. I am a little jealous of your birdlife. Love the top piccie, really fab.xxxxx

  13. Flighty says:

    Snowbird thanks, they’re beginning to darken and ripen but need another week or so I guess. My sympathies about your tomatoes. I’m sure that you see plenty of birds that I don’t. Me too, it’s my best parakeet shot so far. xx

Leave a Reply

