A few changes

I was only going to make a few changes for next year, apart from rotating various vegetables as usual. I’m going to move the rhubarb, and probably the strawberries, but over the past week or so the list has grown. I won’t go into details now as, needless to say, I keep changing my mind so will detail them as and when I do them.

I was tidying up around the rosemary, which is in the stone feature sitting just about in the middle of the plot, when I noticed that there were lots of rosemary beetles on it. As you can see they are colourful but not good news.  Rather than even try to get rid of them I’ll wait and see what happens, then if need be replace it with something else next spring.

Another dahlia flower has appeared on the same plant as this one, which by the way is not Zingaro but Caribbean Sunset, but is a noticeably different colour!

Apologies for getting the name wrong, and this one is Zingaro which I grew last year. I think that I shall grow a few more dahlias next year.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A few changes

  1. Jo says:

    I think this is the time of year when we always start thinking ahead to next year and decide on changes which we’ll make. Such a shame about the rosemary being under attack, it seems there’s always one critter or another out to get us. Nice to see that the dahlias are still producing for you. I’m without any this year but I intend to grow some again next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I started early this year. I’m more concerned about the newer lavender which they also attack. Just the one dahlia as the other two plants got slugged. Fingers crossed for next year. xx

  2. Gosh, you’re very organised. I haven’t even thought about next year yet. I’m still lamenting the lack of a summer, although I suppose I should be used to it by now! I love the colour of your dahlia.

  3. Snow Bird says:

    Rosemary beetle eh? well I’ve never heard of it or seen it! You live and learn. That dahlia is a winner….smashing! xxx

  4. wellywoman says:

    Looking forward to hearing about your plans for next year. That’s not good that you have rosemary beetle. I haven’t seen any here… yet. Like you I’m planning more dahlias for next year but the list is so long I’m going to need another plot at this rate. 😉 Hope you have a sunny weekend. WW

  5. elaine says:

    I have heard one or two people complaining about rosemary beetles – they haven’t appeared round here yet – do they do much damage?

  6. menhir1 says:

    The Zingaro is fiery and that is a lovely flower head you pictured.

    Beetles do have fun and games with plants don’t they.

  7. Lovely dahlia, whatever its name – good luck with all your plans, and the actual moving process. I have a tendency to change my mind mid move, which can get a little problematic!

Leave a Reply

