It was delicious!

I looked at the sweetcorn Swift F1 cobs during the week as the silks had turned dark brown and I could feel the kernels through the sheaths.  I decided to give them a few more days in the warm sunshine but yesterday morning I succumbed to temptation and picked the one off the plant that was leaning somewhat.

There’s always a sense of anticipation when stripping the sheath back to see what it looks like.  In this case I’ve probably not grown a better one, and needless to say it was delicious!

Clearing up a somewhat overgrown corner I came across this young oak tree. Like others that I’ve previously found growing I shall leave it be for a while as it’s out of the way.  I guess that birds or squirrels bury acorns and these are ones that they forgot.

I’ve not mentioned the other, larger plot trees for ages mainly because there’s been not much to tell.  The hawthorn didn’t blossom nor has it produced any berries, perhaps because I’ve been pruning it at the wrong time. Next year I’ll leave it be and see what happens.

The plum tree is growing well, had lovely blossom and has two two tiny marble sized fruit on it.  Maybe next year there’ll be a few more and a bit bigger!

Links to other Tree Followers, and their latest posts, can be found over on Lucy’s LOOSE AND LEAFY blog.

Last week’s glorious weather has continued through the weekend but next week looks like being mostly overcast and cooler.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any of the tree pictures to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It was delicious!

  1. snowbird says:

    Mmmmmmmmmm, that sweetcorn looks delicious! I love sweetcorn, especially with a little butter and black pepper.
    I’ve had no luck with my sweetcorn, dismal failure this year. I have lots of plums though and plenty of rowan berries which the birds are loving. It’s been a weird year all round!

  2. Jo says:

    That’s a great looking cob, no missing kernels at all, they must have been well pollinated. I can imagine it tasted delicious too, nothing quite like home grown sweet corn.

  3. Wow, that cob looks delicious alright. I love it with butter dripping off it too!

  4. wellywoman says:

    I’m very impressed with your sweetcorn, particularly bearing in mind the weather. I’ve tried 2 years in a row and not succeeded.

    The weather has been so lovely. It’s a shame it can’t continue. Hopefully we might get some more at the end of the month.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly so am I as mine are usually no better than average. Next year…!
      It sure has, and set to stay cool, dry and overcast here this week. Fingers crossed. xx

  5. elaine says:

    Perfect – congrats!

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Well done, you! There’s nothing quite like fresh corn.

  7. I don’t think anything quite beats the taste of home grown freshly picked sweetcorn. Hope it is the first of many!

  8. Carrie says:

    We have Swift F1 at the lottie and had 2 (not as glorious as yours) but I think it’s time to get more 🙂 Yummy.. Our plum tree went bonkers this year and we had too many to eat, so patience my love x

  9. menhir1 says:

    That sweetcorn looks good enough to eat!

    🙂 xx

  10. menhir1 says:

    Good stuff – I have bought three, (98p for two or 99p for three sweetcorn – no further explanation required methinks) for us to munch ‘ere long. Yum
    xx

  11. menhir1 says:

    I did the mental arithmetic thrice and decided that it was okay, then checked out three sweet corn that suited me. The till receipt confirmed the price of the transaction. (you can see I needed confirmation even at that point 🙂 ). I grant you, it was an odd deal, one set very obviously, to bump up the numbers of sweetcorn sold. It was probably hoped that a purchaser, doing family shopping, would consider doubling the sale to six. Three’s enough to be getting on with for me.

  12. Liz says:

    OMG! Sweet corn that size in an English garden. Quite an accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

