This week, so far, …

has more than made up for last weekend. The weather has been glorious so I’ve been plotting every morning when I’ve been busy mostly digging, weeding and collecting seed.

Whilst doing that I’ve been pondering on some changes I hope to make in the coming weeks, especially with regard to the flowers that I’ll be growing, and where,  next year.

Around about now is the ideal time to sow hardy annual flower seeds, but no worries if you can’t, or forget, as you can always leave it through to the spring. Although if you sow them then they’ll start flowering slightly later.

It was Sara over at In and Out of My Garden who reminded me about this with her Planning for next year – introducing the ‘synchroseedsow’ post that she did last week. Do have a look to see what she’s doing and if you grow flowers then perhaps you’d like to join in.

This morning the new plot robin kept me company for much of the time. This youngster was really close at times, and also perched on the handle of the fork I was using.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to This week, so far, …

  1. snowbird says:

    Oh…what a gorgeous robin. They are so bold aren’t they? I have a pair that follow me around, especially when I have a handful of mealworm. I’m gathering seed at the mo, I just spinkle it straight onto the soil and hope for the best. I’m not terrible organised. lol xxx

  2. Flighty says:

    Snowbird they sure are, and some more so than others. They do love meal worms so I’m not surprised. I do that with some seed, and like you then hope for the best. There are times when I could be better organised as well. xx

  3. katzideas says:

    Lovely post today

  4. I mostly do companion flowers,Marigolds,Nasturtiums and Lavender to attract bees and butterflies. Seeds of these are easy to keep and sow for the next year 🙂
    Love the young fella and I hope we see at least one soon again!

  5. Thanks for the plug Mike, will be sure to return the favour 🙂

  6. wellywoman says:

    Oh Flighty I really need to get organised and start off my hardy annuals. I’ve just planted out my biennials but I’m behind with the annuals. Wish there were more hours in the day at the moment. It doesn’t help that I’ve got a sore throat and I appear to have hurt my hip. I think my body is telling me to rest!!

    Hope you have a sunny weekend plotting. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ there’s plenty of time providing that you don’t leave it too long. I sympathise, and do take it easy and do what your body is telling you.
      Thanks, and you too, but nothing too strenuous! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Boy, when you start throwing words around like “glorious” it must mean the weather was really really nice! Glad you’ve mad some good days to make up for that last disappointment. And have had good company, too.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it really has been a glorious week! I’m well pleased as I’ve got lots done, but still more to do. Yes I’m always happy to have the robin around. xx

  8. Joanne says:

    A beautiful little Robin photo, Flighty.

  9. gaiamethod says:

    Everything looking…and sounding…gorgeous as usual. Love the Robin!!

  10. Jo says:

    I think summer may have finally arrived, it makes such a change to have some sunshine this year. Lovely little robin, I haven’t seen my regular one around for a while.

  11. Doris says:

    I love your little Robins! We don’t have them over here in Canada 😦

  12. Glad you had a good week Flighty – am hoping to clear enough space in the front garden for some seed sowing, but the weather is lousy and the scaffolidng makes gardening out the front tricky.

  13. Flighty says:

    Janet me too, and hoping for another one this week. That’s not a good combination by the sound of it! xx

  14. Liz says:

    That is a cute and rather cheeky robin! Glad to hear the weather is “glorious”!

Leave a Reply

