One Lovely Blog

Back on Monday, 12 August Jo @ The Good Life did this One Lovely Blog post in which she kindly gave me this award, which really is appreciated.

One thing that I now have to do is list seven things about myself. As you’ll see if you look at Jo’s post is that her list all have a gardening twist to them which I like so I’m going to do the same.

1…The garden tool that I use most of the time is an old kitchen knife that is ideal for weeding.

2…The most successful vegetables that I’ve grown so far are onions, and among the least successful are carrots.

3…Although I grow lots of flowers the only ones that I cut to bring home are sweet peas.

4…I’ve had the plot for five years now, which currently only costs me £20 per year so it’s a real bargain, and is the one bill that I’m only to happy to pay by return of post.

5…An indoor plant that I keep trying to grow is coleus blumei but have had no success so far. I’m about to try again as I’ve been given some Carefree Mix seeds.

6…I always buy myself a hardback reference book for Christmas, which in recent years have mostly been about gardening. Any suggestions for this year would be most welcome.

7…My usual plot wear definitely has the Compo, of Last of the Summer Wine fame, look about it!

Again my thanks to Jo for this lovely award.  I’m not going to pass it on to anyone now but may well do later on in the year.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to One Lovely Blog

  1. Marc Mordey says:

    Hello and how about A History of the World in 12 Maps as your Christmas book? Just read a review and it looks good.
    Cheers
    Marc ( http://themarcistagenda.wordpress.com/ is my little blog)
    PS Sweet peas are wonderful.

  2. wellywoman says:

    Loving the answers, Flighty. Love an old kitchen knife myself. Although I’m always misplacing mine. We got quite low on actual knives as they kept disappearing into the garden! I really need to be better organised.

  3. David Ford says:

    Well deserved Mike your blog post is always the first one I read as they are usually quite cheerful, and the plants always are.

  4. Joanne says:

    Congrats Flighty. Nothing wrong with dressing like Compo. I love watching Last of the Summer Wine. My fav gardening tool is something passed onto me. Its the end of a snooker cue attached to a blade type thing.

  5. Congrats,Flighty. Well deserved. I brought my hubby to Holmfirth a few years ago as a surpise, He loves Last of the Summer Wine and we saw all the places in the series, and was gobsmacked!

  6. Maggie says:

    Well deserved Flighty.
    I recently got http://www.tobybuckland.com/flowers-1. Which I’m working through (slowly) at the moment. I also recommend the Book People, really cheap. x

  7. snowbird says:

    I have a bowie knife to sort the weeds growing in the flags…terrifies passers by though! I can always grow lettuce and spuds, even in this weird climate we have now.x

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird hello, and welcome. I read your comment and immediately thought of Crocodile Dundee’s knife! I guess that with a changing climate we might have to rethink what we grow and when. xx

  8. Jo says:

    I’m pleased you’ve accepted the award, Flighty. I don’t cut flowers from the garden but don’t mind at the allotment. It’s amazing what household objects get turned in to gardening tools, isn’t it?

  9. Carrie says:

    Congratulations my dear Flighty – nought better than being shown a little love and you deserve a bundle xxx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Such interesting details, Flighty. I did wonder about your plot bouquets. And now I know!

  11. Mo says:

    Congratulations! 🙂 I use a kitchen knife too 😉
    It reminds me of Rudyard Kipling’s poem The Glory of the Garden :

    “Our England is a garden, and such gardens are not made
    By singing:-” Oh, how beautiful,” and sitting in the shade
    While better men than we go out and start their working lives
    At grubbing weeds from gravel-paths with broken dinner-knives.”

  12. Compo with a kitchen knife! An image that makes me smile almost as much as your lovely plot flowers. Congrats on the award Flighty. I’d recommend anything by Charles Dowding for your Christmas treat this year, pick something that fills a gap in your library – I am already saving up for my next one by him, practical and full of passion for growing edibles. And then eating them!

Leave a Reply

