Unforeseen circumstances

I had long phone call on Friday evening which unfortunately meant that I wasn’t able to attend yesterday’s local horticultural society show.  As usual I’d been really looking forward to it and feel a real sense of disappointment.

The unforeseen circumstances of the past few days have meant that the intended post that I mentioned on Thursday will have to wait for another few days.  I’ve also not yet replied to comments made on my last post or looked at friends latest posts, both of which I hope to do later today.

Anyway moving on to tomatoes.  This year they’ve been one of my few notable successes as it’s the first time that I’ve managed to grow them from seed.  On the plot I’ve picked a handful or so of the Golden Queen which are nearly all approaching the size of a golf ball. There are plenty more but they’re still green and with blight around it remains to be seen if they ripen and I get to eat them. At home the Red Robin on the window sill is now producing lots of marble sized fruit.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Unforeseen circumstances

  1. Ellie says:

    So sorry to hear you had to miss out on your horticultural show – I know how much you enjoy it. I hope your circumstances change for the better again soon.

    Well done on the tomatoes. After a really unpromising start, they do seem to have come good this year. I am intrigued by Red Robin – I must look it up. Hope your Sunday gets better. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks, I do indeed. Thankfully all will be okay in a day or two.
      Thanks again, I’m well chuffed. It’s going to be a niggling day but come what may I’ll be plotting tomorrow to make up for it. xx

  2. Hope all is ok. We are away at the moment back in a couple of days but if we can do anything to help….

  3. Tomatoes are looking good – mine are still very green and am not sure if better to leave or pick and ripen on kitchen windowsill. Perhaps will do both!

  4. wellywoman says:

    Oh sorry to hear you couldn’t make your horticultural show. It has been a difficult year for tomatoes so you should be really chuffed that you’ve got your own. WW

  5. Jo says:

    Sorry to hear that you had to miss the show, Flighty, I know how much you enjoy it. I hope everything is sorted out soon. Well done with your tomatoes, I haven’t had a ripe one yet, and I know that many people are having problems getting them to ripen this year, so a double well done. There’ll be no stopping you now.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, I maybe could have gone for a short while but with what was going on I wasn’t in the mood. All is now sorted thankfully. Thanks again, most of mine haven’t ripened either and surprised that some even have. Mmm, we’ll have to see won’t we! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Ugh, I just pulled out my Very Last Tomato Ever. I think I’ve officially given up growing tomatoes — so nice that you’ve at least got a few from your plants, given what a difficult year it’s been. Sorry about the disappointing turn of events. I’m sure you’ll catch up on the news from your friends who attended.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I think although it’s worth trying to grow all sorts there are some that just aren’t worth the effort. I’m well pleased and hope to do better next year. Thanks. Yes I’m sure I’ll be told all about it during the week and next Sunday. xx

  7. What a shame to miss the show, hope things settle down again for you soon. Fantastic to be eating tomatoes you grew from seed though – there is no going back now! Take it easy, we’ll all still be here.

  8. Joanne says:

    Hope things are ok for you now flighty. Regards

Leave a Reply

