Moths and sunflowers

I see far more moths than butterflies but as I usually only catch a glimpse of them I rarely manage to identify or photograph any. I only noticed this one because it moved then settled for a few minutes. Checking my copy of Collins British Garden Wildlife I found that it’s an Angle Shades moth. It’s interesting to note that the book has 12 pages on butterflies but a surprising 84 on moths.  Many are colourful and have names like Elephant Hawk-mothThe Magpie and Rosy Footman.

I really like sunflowers so usually grow lots of them but unfortunately this year there are only a handful as most of the seedlings got eaten by slugs.  Sadly there no Giant Singles or chocolate coloured Earthwalkers.  I hope that it will be better next year when I’ll be sowing both of those along with the varieties Autumn Beauty and Ring of Fire, and hopefully a rather more unusual one.

I think that the reason I like sunflowers so much is because they bring out the happy child in me!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Moths and sunflowers

  1. Mark Willis says:

    The moths are certainly less glamorous than the butterflies. So many of them are so similar that they are hard to tell apart. I saw a small blue butterfly in my garden recently, and when I tried to identify it there were just too many choices – and of course it wouldn’t stay still for long enough for me to get a proper look.

  2. Joanne says:

    Same here with the sunflowers. They are such cheerful flowers.

  3. I only grew dwarf sunflowers this year, but they still grew fairly tall. I like the multi-flowering stems 🙂

  4. wellywoman says:

    I was just looking at a book on moths yesterday. It’s incredible how many there are just in Britain and they so often go unnoticed. I love their names too. We went on a bat and moth watching night a few years ago. Didn’t see any bats which was ironic as we’d seen loads the night before flying around the estate we lived on at the time. There were plenty of moths, however. The patterns and levels of disguise they have evolved are amazing. I love sunflowers too. I haven’t got many this year (slugs!) but have got a few Vanilla Ice which bring a smile to my face. 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I’ve been reading through mine as well. I can see why people get hooked on them. I’m not keen on bats though.
      Good for you, shame about the slugs though this year. That’s one variety I’ve tried to grow a couple of times without success. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, so you’ve had bug problems on top of the nearly-nonstop rain! Well, at least you’ve got these pretty pictures to prove that some sunflowers did bloom.

  6. elaine says:

    The moth just looks like an old leaf doesn’t it.

  7. Jo says:

    I’m not a lover of moths, they’re just not as attractive as butterflies, though some probably are, they’re just not regulars. I do like sunflowers though. I’m without them this year, though even if I’d grown some, they’d have probably been eaten by slugs, like most other things this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think most people would agree. My few sunflowers are all self-seeded as all the ones I sowed suffered the same fate, that is if they germinated. xx

  8. Doris says:

    Great photos (as usual)! I have been trying to find moths to photograph this summer and have found some very striking ones. Even the beige and brown ones are very attractive. Also saw some giant Sunflowers at the Montreal Botanical Gardens yesterday and there was a Downy Woodpecker clinging upside down on one flower head, eating the seeds.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks. With butterflies in decline perhaps moths will become more popular.
      Lucky you with the sunflowers and the woodpecker. I’ve seen a parakeet do that on one of mine. xx

  9. Annie_H says:

    Sunflowers are one of my favourite flowers too and I always like to grow some but again most of my seedlings have been decimated by slugs. Some seedlings I managed to get to a decent size but once planted at the allotment the slugs even climbed all the way up and shredded the leaves and often ate the emerging flower bud so the plant was ruined. I managed to get one to grow tall, it was as tall as me anyway and it flowered last week, gorgeous. Like you say they just make you smile.
    Great photo of the moth.

  10. Impossible not to smile at the sight of a sunflower. Here’s hoping that next year is less wet, and therefore less slug ridden. I too find it next to impossible to capture moths and butterflies on camera. There appear to be lots of both around here, so I shall have to practice!

  11. Sunflowers remind me of blue skies.

  12. snowbird says:

    I love sunflowers too. So big and blousey! I see moths as the night butterflies, and find them amazing little creatures, although there are daylight moths too. We get the hawk moths, I think they are stunning.

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird hello and welcome. Good for you, and that’s a great way of describing them. It’s interesting what you say about moths. Lucky you seeing the hawk moths. xx

  13. Liz says:

    What a strange looking moth, the angle shades. It looks like a dried crumpled leaf. A friend found an exquisite giant Polyphemus silk moth in her garden last summer. It was just sitting amid some fallen leaves beside the plants she was weeding.

Leave a Reply

