Spoilt for choice

I do like cheese sandwiches, and I prefer brown bread with medium Cheddar.   I like something else to go with them and will often just add some Branston small chunk pickle.

At the moment though I’m spoilt for choice as I can add my own cucumber, onion and/or tomatoes.

This is the first decent sized cucumber that I’ve grown, which is 7″ long and 6″ round. Needless to say I’m well pleased, and next year will try to grow some from seed rather than buying a couple of plants.

I’ve now lifted all the Sturon onions which I shall leave to dry before checking then storing them. There are about 80 and I have to say that they look better than last years.

I’m still de-leafing the tomatoes and checking for signs of blight. I’ve been picking plenty of the small Gardener’s Delight but the larger yellow Golden Queen have still to ripen.

Among the many various nasturtiums in flower round the plot I noticed this rather unusual salmon pink one.

I shall be collecting seed from this, and all the others later on including this rather pretty yellow one which has vivid red splotches.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Spoilt for choice

  1. wellywoman says:

    Well done with that splendid cucumber. The less said about mine the better. 😉 Good job I’ve just had my lunch otherwise your description of your cheese sandwich would be making me disappointed because we have no cheese in. Love the nasturtium with the red blotches, very pretty. Have a great weekend too and hope the weather isn’t too bad this Bank Holiday so you can get some plotting done. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks I’m well pleased , especially as it tastes really good. Oh dear!
      No cheese would be a disaster here. Thanks, but the forecast isn’t looking too good at the moment. xx

  2. Mmmm…just gotta go and make a cheese sandwich now..LOL! Congrats on your cucumber, I didn’t grow any this year,but plenty of courgettes. The nasturtiums are lovely,the salmon pink one is cute. Ours have colour from yellow, with flecks through to deep red this year.! Plenty of yellow cherry toms here and have had a few beefsteaks and huge moneymaker, loads of green ones yet though, Enjoy your sandwich 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Cath thanks. I tried growing them before but without success. I’m going to have to list all the various nasturtiums for when I collect the seed. Fingers crossed for all out tomatoes to ripen. I did, and they were delicious! xx

  3. elaine says:

    I love cheese sandwiches with anything – beetroot, picallili, toms, cukes, pickle. Well done with your cucumber – mine got off to a bad start but have gradually improved and now I have more than I know what do with. Oh well that’s just the way it goes. Have a good weekend yourself.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine me too. Had my beetroot grown I would have mentioned that as well. Thanks, I suppose that too many is better than too few. Thanks, you too. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    A yum, yum harvest
    xx

  5. David Ford says:

    Mike I would love some of your mixed nasturtium seeds for next season If I sent you a SAE could you oblige when they are ready, thanks David
    PS I am a lover of most pickles and chutneys

  6. Flighty says:

    David you’re more than welcome to some nasturtium seeds. I’ve made a note and will let you know in due course. There’ll be no need for an SAE! Good for you. Cheers.

  7. Joanne says:

    Lovely looking cucumber flighty. I hope you have many more to come.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Spoilt for choice, indeed! Happy seed collecting.

  9. Mo says:

    Lovely nasties! It’s so nice to see unusual colours 🙂
    Enjoy your sandwiches!

  10. Jo says:

    Well done on the cucumber, none for me this year. Yum, cheese sandwiches with tomato, onion or cucumber is delicious, I’m a big cheese fan. I love Wensleydale or Cheshire best.

  11. Annie_H says:

    Love the pink Nasturtium, I’ve grown them on my plot this year and I’ve got a very dark purply red one, amongst the more common orangey red ones. Will they come true from seed do you think? Worth a try anyway. Its a bank holiday it always rains doesn’t it!

  12. Yes, nothing beats a cheese sandwich that includes stuff you have grown. Nice job on the cucumber, something I want to try myself.

  13. Liz says:

    The harvest and blooms of late summer of 2012 seem to have compensated for the earlier dismal run.
    Your comment on cheese sandwiches reminded me of a time in my youth when I lived with my grandparents. Each afternoon, after school, my grandmother would have a snack for me. My favorite was the heel of a loaf of fresh baked bread smothered with butter, and enjoyed with cheddar cheese, a sliced tomato, and Branston Pickle! I can taste it now!

Leave a Reply

