Six of the best

On Thursday I went to throw something on the compost heap when something moving caught my eye.  It was this mouse which never properly came into view and after a minute disappeared.

I often catch a glimpse of grasshoppers but don’t often get a good look at them like I did with this one yesterday morning.

The plum tree is looking healthy with lots of leaf cover and even a couple of plums.  Mind you I don’t think that I’ll pick them though!

The Gardener’s Delight tomatoes have started ripening and I picked these yesterday.  These were plants that I was given unlike the Golden Queen ones which I grew from seed. The fruit on these are still green but fingers crossed that they will turn yellow soon.

I posted this colourful raspberry ripple gladioli photo on my Facebook page during the week which attracted a lot of comments and likes.

I thought that the three dahlias that I planted earlier in the year had all succumbed to slugs and snails but one, the Caribbean Sunset, managed to survive and produce this summer sizzler.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Six of the best

  1. Joanne says:

    Lovely dahlia flighty, they are my favourite flowers.

  2. menhir1 says:

    Your garden ripples and sizzles I see. 😉 It’s good to have time to take to ‘smell the roses’ and see what other parts of life are in, around, and under the flora and fauna.

    xx

  3. Jane Davis says:

    I had a mouse in my compost heap once it was jumping around all over the place… I mistook it for a frog at first!! Its a nice warm place to sleep :0) I love dahlia’s. I never get to keep them for more than a year though 😦

    • Flighty says:

      Jane hello. I’ve seen mice on the compost heap before but they usually just disappear. It’s always debatable about leaving dahlia tubers in the ground or lifting them. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    That mouse is sweet. You’ve done well to get some tomatoes, everyone on twitter seems to have had blight. That dahlia is a real star. WW

  5. Well done getting a pic of a grasshopper, and that little mouse is sweet 🙂
    Beautiful Gladiola and Dahlia. Yes it is taking ages for bigger tomatoes to ripen this year. My beefsteaks are nearly there 🙂

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Interesting stuff on the plot, as always.

  7. elaine says:

    At last you have some tomatoes – my outdoor ones are not doing very well at all – not the best of years for tomato growing. I have never grown gladioli – yours is quite lovely. I have never seen a grasshopper either – it all seems to be going on at your plot – you are obviously good at spotting the wildlife.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’m surprised there’s any this year! Thanks I’m going to lift and move them this year. I tend to spot the wildlife if I’m pottering, which I mostly was on Thursday and Saturday. xx

  8. Jo says:

    You’re ahead of me with the tomatoes, I don’t know if I’ll ever get any ripe ones this year. What a great name for the gladioli, Raspberry Ripple suits it, as does Zingaro for the dahlia, it certainly zings. How cute to find a little mouse, I bet he didn’t like being disturbed.

  9. Nice catch on the mouse and grasshopper flighty! It always makes my day when I see interesting wildlife when I am gardening.

  10. Doris says:

    I loved the shy, little mouse 🙂

  11. Ellie says:

    What a cute little mouse. Your plot is certainly a haven for wildlife. Well done on the tomatoes. Never an easy thing to grow on an allotment where blight circulates so freely. x

  12. Liz says:

    Your tomatoes look good. The raspberry ripple gladiolus is unusual. And, I guess the mouse had been carrying out an inspection (on behalf of the Allotment Police, referencing your Daily T article?!)

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, I generally do pretty well with tomatoes. Yes, it makes a change to the single coloured ones. I’m sure that the mice are always around but I rarely see them xx

Leave a Reply

