Thank goodness…

I was looking at the online media earlier this morning and in the Telegraph noticed this….Look busy, the allotment police are out to check productivity. I get so exasperated when I read such articles.

It’s not raining so I’m off to the plot soon for a potter, and to deadhead yet more pot marigolds.

If I’m lucky I may see a Red Admiral butterfly like this one which I saw sunning itself on Tuesday morning.

Thank goodness that there’s been plenty of friends blog posts that have made me smile recently.  Two in particular will appeal to anyone who likes kittens and/or puppies.

Mo now has two delightful  Labrador puppies, Amber and Molly, which are Settling In. Uphilldowndale’s cocker spaniel Spud will have to get used to having two kittens around.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Thank goodness…

  1. Mo says:

    Aww! You mentioned Molly & Amber! Thank you so much, they will be thrilled 😉
    My marigolds got a bit out of control because Steve didn’t tend them whislt I was ‘out of sorts’. They looked very wild and bedraggled but I’ve given them a chop and a few buds are coming so I might get a second showing. Enjoy your potter!

    • Flighty says:

      Mo I had to mention them being the big softie that I am and liking little softies like them!
      Mine are just as bad, and I don’t really have an excuse. Thanks I did! xx

  2. wellywoman says:

    Just read the article, Flighty. Oh dear why do things like this have to get to court. It’s ridiculous that lawyers are making money out of this. Surely they could have come to some compromise? I understand that the council has to have some rules, but the idea that 3/4 of the plot for productive veg would stop people who would otherwise leave their plot to become overgrown seems strange logic. It would be interesting to know whether any previously unkempt plots are still that way and therefore, they too, are in breach of the new rules. At least he’s using the plot for some growing unlike plenty on my own site who haven’t been up at all this year. I need a machete to get past one of the plots! We have the ‘no fruit trees’ rule and there are a few who are really quite sniffy about me growing flowers but then my plot, with the flowers, veg and fruit, is probably one of the most productive up there. Have you read the comments that have been added underneath the article? All I can say is I refer you to my post yesterday! Have a good day on the plot pottering. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I agree with what you say. There are plots on my site that haven’t touched in years. I can understand the no trees rule but I just wish councils would be more consistent in following their own rules, which clearly they’re not at times.
      Yes I read the comments, and I do know some of the people as they’re on various gardening forums.
      Thanks, I had a good morning! xx

  3. Jo says:

    I would have thought that the allotment is very productive with all those trees growing on it. Molly and Amber are adorable, I have a thing for Labradors, and those kittens, such cuties. I do miss having a cat around the place.

  4. Since when is growing fruit not a productive use of an allotment?! Crazy. Happy plotting, and don’t let the bu**ers get you down!

  5. elaine says:

    Honestly – I sometimes wonder what the world is coming too.

  6. Ellie says:

    A sad state of affairs. I don’t understand why councils persist with the ‘no fruit trees’ rule. Fair enough when fruit trees grew large and shaded neighbouring plots, but these days they come in compact forms.
    I’ve not seen many butterflies, despite the buddleja being in flower. Sadly I think the cold spring has cut down their numbers this year.

  7. menhir says:

    Allotment Police…. what next! Perhaps the allotmenteers can suggest to the newspaper mentioned how to use their paper more productively than print on it!

    xx

  8. menhir says:

    Back again; I heard a feature on the radio this morning about a guy who is being given notice to leave an allotment. I wonder if this is what your comment was referring to. The suggestion was, if the guy had planted dwarf fruit trees (I am not clear what size he planted) and included vegetables in his plot, (which is a stated size) as well, there may not have been an issue. Wherever this plot is, the rules allow hens and rabbits on the plots as well – sufficient requirements to feed a family of four – going back, presumably to war time and post war food supplementation. Would these be standard rules even where you are, Mr F?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it may well have been. There are obviously two sides to this story but if past instances are any guide then the council should probably have dealt with this differently.
      There are no standard rules and so differ considerably around the country. Some places don’t allow livestock, or even sheds. I’ll have to look at my lease and see what it says. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        Looking at your lease may be a very wise move.

        There was a concern stated that fruit trees (not dwarf ones?) will suck up a lot of ground water, which could affect growth on other allotments. I wonder how much more can be squeezed from this woeful matter. It would be interesting to know who highlighted the grower’s arrangements and why. It would also be helpful to understand why the authorities decided to be so litigious. (I don’t know if there is a visual aid of an appropriate emoticon I could use at this juncture.)

        It seems legal proceedings are a hammer to crack a nut process in the case. I guess though, there will be elements of the situation we know nothing about and are unlikely to know about, unless there is a public hearing.

        I have other thoughts that diverge a bit, so, I won’t broaden out the discussion.

        XX

        • Flighty says:

          I can’t find my lease at present but I know it says no trees and no fixed base buildings, among other things. Full grown trees are a problem with shade and the amount of water they take out the ground.
          Every time there’s problem like this it appears that the councils are heavy-handed dealing with it.
          It’s a subject that’s bound to crop up again sadly. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    It’s interesting to read about the origin of rules and how some are enforced even when they no longer apply to the current circumstances.

  10. Always like butterflies. Like caterpillars in the wild – but less enthusiastic about them in gardens. Double standards!

Leave a Reply

