Sunflower Sunday…

follows Super Saturday.

Have a good week, which incidentally is National Allotments Week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunflower Sunday…

  1. Mo says:

    Thank you! I have no sunflowers this year so it is nice to see yours 🙂

  2. Joanne says:

    Ohhhhh lovely sunflowers flighty. How tall are they? I planted 9 in all at the back of the beds & they have got to less than 5ft, just forming buds now. I do have a couple of rogue ones from the birds, which seem to be stronger. I hope the rogue ones will flower in the week, they seem far more advanced.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne thanks. This one is the tallest being just over 6ft. Nearly all mine this year are self-seeded ones, which always seem to grow better and bigger. xx

  3. David Ford says:

    The bees love them too it seems

  4. menhir1 says:

    Hi Mr F.

    Nice one. The only sunflowers I have seen are small-ish ones for bouquets, (they must perform like Gerberas in a bunch of cut flowers) or, a show of medium-sized potted ones, some of which, nearly assaulted me when blown of the top ledge of a show stand, by a gust of wind! It was a close thing.

    This year has not been a useful one for many flowering plants or fruits. There has been a distinct lack of sunlight here.

    XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. Some are tiny in comparison which are perfect for bouquets, and great in pots. Thank goodness you avoided them.
      Same here with the lack of sunshine, which coupled with other factors has made it such a poor year. xx

  5. wellywoman says:

    Gorgeous, Flighty. I’m waiting in eager anticipation for mine to flower, very late this year but better late than never.

  6. Lovely spark of sunshine…..they nearly recompense for lack of real sun…I have dwarf ones with many flowers…Dwarf……eemm…as high as me….5 ft…6 ins???

  7. My efforts have been a disaster I’m sad to say, no sun many slugs… sorry 😦

    • Flighty says:

      Uphilldowndale I sympathise, and there’s certainly no need to be sorry! I’ve had the same problems, and I’m surprised that I’ve even got a handful. We’ll all do better next year. xx

  8. Ellie says:

    Gorgeous – just how a sunflower should be, unlike my sad efforts this year. I was interested in your reply about self-seeding – the best sunflower I ‘grew” was one in the hedge from a discarded seed from the bird feeder! x

  9. Karen says:

    Lovely photo, sunflowers always make me smile! I’ve done really well with two self-seeded ones this year, I’ve yet to measure one of them – it’s a whopper!

  10. Jo says:

    It’s a beauty. I haven’t grown any sunflowers this year, probably for the best as I’m sure the slugs would have had them.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Wow, that’s quite a view from sky-high sunflower!

Leave a Reply

