Still plenty of plotting to do

It’s been a while since I spent three consecutive mornings working on the plot.

On Thursday I cut the comfrey which I then chopped up and added to the compost heap. It’ll soon grow back but meantime I can now get to one side of the raspberries easily and pick any that I’ve missed.

The wild patch is dominated by the now flowering  rosebay willowherb, which grows up through and around the log pile, and lesser knapweed (centaurea nigra).  I was well pleased to see a male common blue damselfly on Friday as that’s a first for me on the plot.

Yesterday morning I wasn’t the only one on the allotments enjoying the warm sunshine as a fox was having a rest on a nearby path.

Wandering round looking at everything I was pleased to see this rose coloured love-in-a-mist (nigella damescena) which appears to be a one-off as all the rest have been blue and white.

At long last it looks like the weather is changing for the better with dry, sunny and warm weather for at least the next few days which I shall certainly be making the most of as there’s still plenty of plotting to do.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Still plenty of plotting to do

  1. Laydilejur says:

    I love the photo of Mr Fox and the rose coloured love-in-a-mist. Enjoy the change in weather. Hope your summer has arrived at last!

  2. Joanne says:

    As I am doing, I hope you have a lovely time gardening in the sun.

  3. elaine says:

    Because of the horrible weather the garden has got into a right old state – so like you it was a joy to work outside all day yesterday – trying to get some order back. Love the colour of that Nigella. As you say – still plenty of plotting to do. Enjoy your Sunday.

  4. I use the comfrey leaves to make a liquid feed. Your Nigella is a lovely colour. We are back to wind and rain again today though 😦

  5. wellywoman says:

    That rose coloured Nigella is stunning and how lovely to share the plot with a fox. Despite the great weather I had the plot to myself this morning which was nice. I love the peace and quiet there. Feeling a bit more on top of everything now but still got lots of little plants to prick out this afternoon. So better get off to it. WW

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I think that I spotted another one today so it’s not a one-off. I often have the site to myself, especially early mornings, which I like. Good for you, I hope that you got plenty more done. xx

  6. stacy says:

    its nice to finally get a few days of weather where we can enjoy the plot. next week is meant to be good. 😉

  7. nikkipolani says:

    What lovely things are happening on the plot!

  8. gaiamethod says:

    I have always loved Rosebay Willow herb since reading Duncton Wood when I was in my 20’s!!! Even the name of the plant is wonderful. Rose-bay-Willow-herb! Perfect rhythm!!!
    I love the pink Nigella!!! How did that happen?? You must keep the seeds!!!! Mind you, they do tend to go a bit mad don’t they? But ‘Mad beauty’ has got to be worth it!!!

    • Flighty says:

      Ann I’m not surprised as it is a lovely wildflower. Pink and rose are listed nigella colours but are uncommon compared to the familiar blue and white. I will be keeping the seeds. They do indeed, but yes well worth it. xx

  9. menhir1 says:

    What a peculiarly interesting flower that is. You seem to have a lot going on in your allotment.

    I noticed a tiny nasturtium from previous years’ seeds in a patch, it’s hardly got any time to grow. I suspect that some other leaf-lings may be the same species. Yesterday was relatively mild here, today is not so warm.

  10. Doris says:

    I’m pleased to hear that you got some sunshine! And the fox is a nice bonus. 🙂

  11. Liz says:

    Yeah, for the sunny day! The magenta nigella is so pretty. Hope you found some raspberries. And, the fox is on the prowl.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz they’re always welcome. It sure is, but don’t think that I’ve had any since! I’m sure I did. It’s always good to see a fox when I’m plotting. xx

Leave a Reply

