Mostly vegetables

This is the last of last year’s onions, half of which I shall have fried with the sausages and mash that I’ll be eating later on. I’m really pleased at how well they have stored and lasted.

I hope that this years will be as good, and they’re certainly looking okay at the moment.

The two cucumbers Bedfordshire Prize that I planted out some weeks back haven’t been touched by slugs, snails or anything else. This morning I noticed that one has a flower, and if I actually end up with a cucumber that will be a first!

I may not be doing great with some vegetables but I reckon that I’ve got the most colourful plot on the site thanks to the en masse pot marigolds.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mostly vegetables

  1. Lots of fretting among the onion growers on our site. Concerned that with all the rain that they’ll not store very well.

  2. Jo says:

    My onions from last year stored really well too, we haven’t long since finished them. I’m having a go at growing them from seed this year, perhaps not the best year to be trying it, still, who knows?

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s a bit of a blow when we finish them isn’t it. I know some people who only grow from seed and generally do well with them, so fingers crossed. xx

  3. David Ford says:

    Well what you have got looks in good health, and not a weed in sight, puts my weedy plot to shame

  4. I used up the last of my onions a couple of months ago and am now onto store bought until this year’s are ready. They’re all looking a bit sorry for themselves though, poking up above the soil and falling over (the onions, not the leaves!). Your onions look very good and, if the forecasts are true, warmer weather and a bit of sunshine will do wonders for all our veg! Sausage and mash, hmm? YUM!

  5. Flighty says:

    Caro I think that I shall resist buying some. They often look like that but I’m sure that they’ll be okay. Thanks, as you say some dry, sunny warm weather will do wonders for the vegetables, and for us. Yes dinner was delicious, and I had some broad beans as well. xx

  6. Beautiful stored onion. I used the last of mine last Christmas 😦 But have started using the thick necks from this year. Good luck with your cucumber and hope the flower sets for you, Flighty.!

  7. elaine says:

    Wow that’s amazing to still have stored onions – mine didn’t store well and I had to use them fairly quickly – the ones that are growing this year are pathetically small – hey ho!

  8. Joanne says:

    That does look a very nice onion you were holding there. I only have red onions in the ground but am really looking forward to them being ready. Onion marmalade here i come!

  9. Maggie says:

    I love your marigolds Flighty, yours look amazing! I’m going to add them to my wishlist with Thompson Morgan, getting to be quite a long list. x

  10. Flighty says:

    Maggie thanks. We all have long wishlists! xx

  11. wellywoman says:

    I think I might have a cucumber too. Can’t believe it. It’s not the interesting crystal lemon variety which is a real shame. It succumbed to slugs. I was kindly given 2 spare plants from another allotmenteer. Just as well really since my own have all been eaten. Still I’ve never grown them before so I’ll be so chuffed if I do manage it. My self seeded calendulas are flowering now. I’m going to pick a few petals tomorrow to put in a salad for lunch. It’s been so nice to see the sun again and get onto the plot. I’m sowing frantically for quick crops in late summer and early autumn in case this weather lasts. Have a great weekend. WW

    • Flighty says:

      Welly I’m determined to grow cucumbers, my plants were given to me.
      I’ve been plotting yesterday and today. I wasn’t going to sow any more but I might just change my mind. Thanks, and you too. xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    That is one beautiful onion! Congrats on cucumber 🙂

  13. I had no trouble growing cukecumbers ( had to learn how to pickle) but couldnt do courgettes!?? The vagaries of gardening!

  14. gaiamethod says:

    Our courgettes get eaten by palm tree weevils but usually during the winter months. And randomly we have a couple of pumpkin plants growing under the olive tree. Not sure how they got there…maybe left-overs from last years trials…Your plants are looking lovely!!!!!

  15. Liz says:

    How do you store onions so they don’t go soft and start sprouting? I have mine in a closed bin in the kitchen, but often find one or more have gone “off”. I try to check that the onions I buy are good and solid; obviously, I’m doing something wrong.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I put them in plastic bread baskets under the bed in the spare room. I always check them regularly and inevitably find one or two going soft. I don’t think that you’re doing anything wrong. xx

Leave a Reply

