It was sunny…

on Thursday morning but as the ground was still waterlogged there was very little plotting that I could do.

I dug up a few more first early potatoes Vales Emerald, and although there aren’t that many some have been good sized ones, and more importantly they don’t go mushy when cooked and taste delicious.

This plant has appeared for the first time and thanks to Pauline on the Gardens Weekly group over on Facebook I now know that it’s Purple Toadflax. The stems look somewhat threadbare between the leaves and the flowers which I’ll put down to the weather.

Although it’s okay where it has grown I may well move it in the autumn before it disappears for the winter.

I’m pleased to see the chicory (chichorium intybus) as these lovely, clear bright blue flowers are among my favourites.

Sadly, but not surprisingly, I’ve seen few butterflies this year so I was happy to see, and photograph, what I’m fairly sure is a Small Skipper resting on a pot marigold.

Yesterday was the start of the Big Butterfly Count, and David Attenborough calls for help  in this thoughtful article as butterflies face worst year ever.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It was sunny…

  1. Joanne says:

    Those potatoes look nice flighty. I shall look out for them next year. I didn’t bother with potatoes this year, but i have felt rather jealous seeing other peoples harvests.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne thanks. If I had to pick one variety of potato to grow it would be Charlottes which is a salad/second early. They can grow nice and grow big, they taste excellent and store well. I’m usually still eating them until the new year. xx

  2. David Ford says:

    Nice to see that butterfly Mike haven`t seen that one before what county are you in?

  3. We don’t seem to have butterflies,bees,hoverflies,or ladybirds this year!!!

  4. Jenny Aspin says:

    Yes, we had sun today too! Hurray! Very few butterflies here also.

  5. elaine says:

    Only one butterfly seen today – they are few and far between at the moment. Love the blue of your chicory – is it perennial?

  6. Ellie says:

    A couple of weeks ago, the grasses and wild flowers in the field near us suddenly gained what looked like small clusters of ‘foam’ around their stems. A while later, clouds of butterflies rose as we walked through – I think they were meadow browns but they didn’t settle long enough to be sure. Other than that – nothin, even though Buddleja is flowering. Everything is so wet and dank and cold, I am saddened but not surprised at the absence of all types of insect life. Lovely looking potatoes! x

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that chicory flower is stunning! I think I like even better than asters.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    And hurray for sunshine! Hope you have more on the way.

  9. Jo says:

    It was nice to have a break from all the rain, but it’s back again today, boo. There’s not much I can do at the allotment as it’s just so wet. I’ve hardly seen any butterflies this year, nor bees or hoverflies. There were lots of ladybirds when we had some nice weather earlier on this year but they must have gone back in to hibernation and I don’t blame them.

  10. wellywoman says:

    At least you saw some sun there Flighty. I’m harvesting my Charlotte potatoes but the yield hasn’t been as good as last year. Still they’re very tasty. Loving the chicory flower. It must have been a dreadful year for lots of our insects. Populations do bounce back to some degree but they are suffering anyway from a decline in habitat and a summer like this one could well be disastrous for some species. I’ve tried to plant as many flowers as possible for bees and butterflies but I can’t do much about the rain. 😦

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I hope that my Charlottes are okay as they are possibly my favourite variety.
      I think that whatever we’ve done to help wildlife this year has been negated by the weather. Judging by the articles I’ve read it has been disastrous for some species, including ones that were already struggling. A sad year in so many ways. xx

  11. Oh dear, gloomy comments about the state of wildlife and beneficial insects – I’m sure that the weather will change soon and we’ll see plenty of insects. You’re certainly doing your best with your flowers on the plot! For me, it’s still momentous to see a honeybee on the herb flowers this year. I love the look of those chicory flowers and have now discovered that they’re edible, along with the rest of the plant, excellent!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it makes sobering reading doesn’t it. I hope that you’re right. The plot flowers have been the highlight that’s for sure. I presume that you’ve added chicory to your ‘must grow’ list! xx

  12. Doris says:

    What a lovely photo of the Chicory and the little skipper is delightful. I hope the butterflies are managing in all your wet weather.

  13. Flighty says:

    Doris thanks. Thankfully I’ve seen a few butterflies this week in the warm sunshine. xx

Leave a Reply

