Five years

I spent a couple of mornings during the week working on the plot but I have to say that at times my heart wasn’t really in it as it usually is. It’s not that surprising as it’s been the wettest April to June since records began, with little real improvement in sight.

Thankfully flowers, like the common mallow and pot marigolds, continue to provide some much needed cheer.

I’ve now had the plot five years, during which I’ve blogged about it every week in some 370 specific posts, out of nearly 650 that I’ve done here.

Rather than just celebrate in this post I think that I’ll do so in some of the forthcoming ones when I’ll look back at a few favourites and highlights.

I have to say that it has nearly always been most enjoyable in many ways, and I hope it will continue to be so well into the future.

Happy gardening!

Mon, 2 July…As you can see in her comment Glo/Porcelain Rose has very kindly awarded me this rather special Flighty’s High Five Award!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Five years

  1. gaiamethod says:

    I can identify completely…but in the opposite way!! Too much sun isn’t good either!!! But I am coming to terms with the fact that some things just will not grow here! Full stop! So, rain or sun, nature is a good limiter!
    At least you can eat the marigolds and they look lovely!!! Chin up! Maybe it will stop raining soon…

    • Flighty says:

      Ann thanks, and I sympathise. I’m sure that it isn’t, and I don’t like it hot so I’d probably be even more grouchy. Working with nature is clearly the best way, whatever we think.
      That’s true, and they sure do. I’ll try. Maybe, although the forecast is for more next week. xx

  2. daffy says:

    Well done on all the blogging & plotting. I see I have been hoisted off the sofa! lol I understand. My blogging is like my dieting! :o) Happy days to come for you and the gardening and perhaps some sunshine in July??? Here is hoping.

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy hello and many thanks. You’re still a sofa flyer elsewhere. Mmm. Let’s hope that there’s sunshine to come for all of us.
      Fingers crossed! xx

  3. daffy says:

    * not sofa flyers anymore… I’ve been kicked off the grass! haha

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy the lawn has been far too wet for lounging on so you’re better off sofa flying and I wouldn’t dare kick you off, having not blogged for a while I presumed that you’d gone walkabout! xx

  4. Maggie says:

    Happy Anniversary Flighty. Hang on in there and may there be brighter days ahead. x

  5. Ellie says:

    I agree, it has been a thoroughly demoralising gardening year so far. But, five years is a fab achievement – both in terms of improving your plot and blogging so regularly about it, so long may you continue. (The weather must improve soon, surely??) x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie never mind it’ll be better next year. Thanks, I well pleased with both and plan on continuing for a good while yet. I like to think that it will! xx

  6. Jo says:

    It’s hardly surprising that it’s been the wettest April to June on record, the rain just doesn’t seem to have let up at all this year. I’m hoping that the sun is going to come out just in time for my holiday in a few weeks time. Congratulations on the five year anniversary, both with your plot and the blog. There’s always something new to blog about when you’ve got an allotment.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s that combined with a lack of sunshine when it hasn’t been. I recollect that your holiday weather is usually good so fingers crossed. Thanks, it’s gone by way too quickly really. Yes, that’s true. xx

  7. Mo says:

    Five years plotting! Congratulations. I’m looking forward to hearing what you chose to look back on.
    How different is your plot now to when you started?
    That’s quite a blogging achievement too! I do enjoy your posts very much, so don’t stop now! 😉

    • Flighty says:

      Mo thanks. I’m looking forward to looking back…if you know what I mean!
      The layout hasn’t changed much but it’s now looking much more ‘lived in’.
      Thanks again. That’s nice to know, so I won’t! xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Well, well, well! Five years and lots of learning and wild-life visits and wonderful foods and flowers. Sorry this season has been so rainy, but perhaps summer will come for real with some sunshine! Roomie was just back from the Washington D.C. area where record temps (104F) and record winds (80-90mph) had people dodging falling trees and trying to stay cool.

  9. Well done on your achievement Flighty! I wonder what my plot will look like in five years’ time? Hopefully I will have beaten the dandelions by then. I must say that blogging and allotmenteering go very well together, a shared place to commiserate and share weather woes, as well as celebrate.

    • Flighty says:

      Sara thanks. If you do beat the dandelions you’ll have done better than me. Yes, I agree about blogging and plotting, as well as sharing our gardening ups and downs. xx

  10. wellywoman says:

    Congratulations on five years on the plot and blogging. I understand how you feel. I felt like it all week. It was a real struggle to motivate myself, coming back from holiday didn’t help either. Still it looks like the first spuds will be harvested this week and some other things are doing well which has cheered me up. Blogging and twitter help too, knowing others are feeling the same or having the same problems means it doesn’t feel like it’s just you with the soggy, sagging plants!

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks. I think that we’ve all felt like it one way and another. I may well lift the first of my potatoes as well. I picked the first broad beans today, along with more raspberries and strawberries. That’s true, and it’s nice to have such good online gardening friends. xx

  11. elaine says:

    I really admire your stickability – sometimes it is hard to keep at it – with the plot and the blog. If it wasn’t for all the nice blog friends out there I would have given up ages ago.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine thanks, I guess that keeping going with both is all part of life’s ups and downs. Having good blog friends really does make it all worthwhile that’s for sure. xx

  12. Donna says:

    Happy 5th Plotaversary!!

  13. Doris says:

    Looking forward to many more postings from you! I hope to get back to blogging once I retire in October!

  14. Glo says:

    On this very special occasion, I present you with Flighty’s High Five Award 🙂

  15. happy five years plotting – I really can’t believe it’s been that long. Reading your posts remind me of my own muddy allotment in England while I swelter under tropical skies x

  16. victoriawildman says:

    Time flies and all that. A tremendous achievement on both the allotment and the blog.

  17. annie_h says:

    Congratulations on 5 years of plotting! I bet in those 5 years you have seen all sorts of springs and summers but none as wet as this one! Like you I’ve not been as enthusiastic in recent weeks what with the rain and the slugfest at my plot. We’ll get some sun soon I’m sure.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie thanks. You’re right I certainly haven’t. I feel sorry for people who, unlike myself, can only plot at weekends and haven’t been able to for so long now. I sure hope so! xx

  18. menhir1 says:

    What a remarkable record Mr F. I can only wish you what you have been wished already, and that is many more good times on the plot and on the blog. XX + 1 X

  19. Liz says:

    Five years! Congratulations. You’ll have to compile a book of Glo’s awards.

Leave a Reply

