A flower, insects and seeds

Yesterday started off  dull so I posted this flowery sunshine on Twitter, Facebook and a couple of the gardening forums to cheer everyone up.

At the plot I tidied up the perennial cornflower (centaurea montana) which had finished flowering.  On Tuesday I mentioned it’s National Insect Week so I kept a look out for any interesting insects.  I saw these two, which I think are young Kentish Snails, being only small finger tip sized.

On a pot marigold (calendula officinalis) was this Hairy Shieldbug.

Collins Guide To British Garden Wildlife, which I bought a couple of years ago, has proved invaluable in identifying such insects.

I also collected some Poached Egg plant seeds, although I’ll leave most to self-seed as I usually do.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A flower, insects and seeds

  1. wellywoman says:

    Loving the flowery sunshine. It’s just what I need with thunderstorms and torrential rain here making me fed up. I haven’t been to the allotment nearly as much as I’d like this year which is a real shame. I think a lot of people have just given up with their plots for the year. I’ve hardly seen anyone there so far this year, none of the nice little chats of last year. Anyway it was dry for a spell yesterday so I managed to sow some more seed, some biennials for next spring and some more lettuce but had hoped to plant out some beetroot today. Hoping for a dry weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. I read today that it’s been the wettest April to June on record so I’d guess that none of us have been to our allotments as much as we would have liked. I agree, but feel that even now it’s worth planting or sowing as it may be good weather later on.
      Me too, so fingers crossed. xx

  2. elaine says:

    Glad you are enjoying the flowering of your plot the only wildlife I am seeing right now is slugs, slugs and more slugs. Have a good weekend.

  3. David Ford says:

    The Collins wildlife book looks good value at £4.99

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Hmmm. Are Kentish snails any less destructive than garden-variety snails?

  5. Jo says:

    I’ve never seen a Hairy Shieldbug before. I love the flowery sunshine, just what we need to cheer us up on these grey days.

  6. Carrie says:

    Never ever seen Kentish Snails or a Hairy Shieldbug – I feel all the better for the new knowledge. Oh I hope one day a pub quiz asks if there is such a thing as a hairy shieldbug I’ll know the answer 🙂 Oh it’s the little things (sometimes literally) that make me happiest xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    Insects are highly photogenic aren’t they. You’re obviously not planning a French meal this evening, your snails would be too small and too few. 😉

    XX

    PS Mr F, trying my dormant WP a/c again. Is there a personal message facility here, if so, where do I find it?

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir they are but I rarely get good pictures of them. No thanks, I’ve eaten snails once which was enough.
      No there’s no PM facility here so you’d have to use email. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        I think I had two experiences of snails a la carte. Mussels became a speciality for a bit.

        Re. mail; where would an email contact point be found on WP?

        XX

        • Flighty says:

          Menhir I wasn’t keen on mussels either!
          Re mail I’ll email you later on, or more likely tomorrow. Hope that’s okay. xx

          • menhir1 says:

            Hubs said that my preparation of mussels was a signature dish….alas for him, no more 😦
            Thanks, look forward to hearing from you. Hope you don’t mind. Need to get my head around the navigation of the site.

  8. Liz says:

    I enjoyed Carrie’s comment on pub quizzes and hairy shieldbug! It’s all this trivia (knowledge!) that one never knows might come in handy someday.

Leave a Reply

