The good news is…

that there are plenty of colourful flowers to help make up for the disappointments elsewhere on the plot.

The borage, which self-seeds every year, is now showing it’s pretty, small blue flowers.

Another self-seeding plant that has done really well this year is the collomia grandiflora. 

I don’t think that nasturtiums (tropaeolum majus) are good looking flowers but the bright orange, red and yellow colours compensate.

Lots of pot marigolds (calendula offinalis) are now appearing in the familiar apricot, cream, gold, orange and yellow colours.  Some are the variety Touch of Red which have the said touch of red as an edging to the petals.

          

A few vivid yellow California poppies (eschscholtzia californica) and red poppies (papaver rhoeas) scattered around have also flowered.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The good news is…

  1. sylvan says:

    the borage is beautiful and i envy your marigolds as mine for some reason have not self seeded this year!

  2. elaine says:

    Your flowers are ahead of mine – no sign of nasturtiums or marigolds yet. I have never heard of collomia it is very pretty. As for the borage, don’t get me started on that, it is taking over the top end of the garden, even though I try not to let is seed about too much. It is a lovely colour though so I’ll forgive it. Have a good week.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’m sure that yours won’t be long. I’m not surprised as everyone who sees it asks what it is.
      I’m lucky as my borage has behaved itself so far. Thanks you too. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    I do like the look of borage.

  4. Mo says:

    My marigolds have taken a bit of a battering but still manage to look cheerful 🙂 I like your Touch of Red and will look for it next year.

  5. Jo says:

    At least there’s plenty of colour on the plot to make up for the grey days. My borage hasn’t flowered yet.

  6. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, Good old calendula. We all need some plants like it, that can put up with whatever our weather can throw at them.

  7. Some inspiration here for my plot next year! Whilst the dandelion seedlings are popping up like so much mustard and cress nothing else has dared show its head – but I do have a flower on the runner beans!

Leave a Reply

