Germinate!

I mentioned in my last post that I had sowed/re-sowed various seeds, and like most gardeners I’m always a bit on tenterhooks until they start appearing.

I’m happy to say that looking round yesterday some, such as the runner beans and sweetcorn, are now just visible.

Earlier this the month Wellywoman did this interesting Seed Sowing No-Shows post which a lot of people commented on.

I think that perhaps all the seeds need is some encouragement – Germinate!

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Germinate!

  1. It is great to see the seeds germinating faster now with the risen temps.We also have rain so all plants are growing like mad 🙂
    Love the GERMINATE pic….LOL!
    Warm with showers forecast for our Bank Holiday this weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine damp, sunny and warm is the perfect combination. It’s really good isn’t it!
      Wet here on Sunday and Monday, which is typical Bank Holiday weather. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I think we should all have a dalek to threaten our seeds, especially the Blue Kuri squash seeds which have totally refused to germinate for me. I’ve had lots of other thing pop through the soil in the last couple of days though.

  3. wellywoman says:

    Thanks for the mention, Flighty. I’ve lost count the number of times I’ve sown ammi now. I’ve noticed 2 appear which will hardly keep me in cut flowers. Oh well. Never give up, that’s my motto. If one thing doesn’t germinate, try something else. I sowed some gypsophila to replace the ammi and had too many germinate. I’m now inundated with the things. When a seed company says it’s the grower’s fault I get so annoyed. It’s about time the industry had to be more accountable for the products they sell. There, rant over. I’m glad to hear you’ve got seeds appearing. Hope you enjoy the weekend and that the weather stays fine. WW

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ you’re welcome and I’m sure that we’ll be mentioning the subject again in the future. Rant away I think that you’re entitled to!
      Thanks, unfortunately wet weather is forecast for Sunday and Monday. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Well, I’m starting over with my pot-sown seeds. Maybe this time they’ll hear your encouragement to GERMINATE!

  5. elaine says:

    Who would have thought that such a small thing as a seed could cause so much trouble. Have a good weekend.

  6. Lynda says:

    I’m hoping the runner beans I sowed will come up ..they are old seeds which I just thought I’d try, so it won’t be a great tragedy if they don’t, but a huge bonus if they do!
    I’ve also sown some sweetcorn with my courgettes and pumpkins…never tried these before so it could be interesting ;0)

  7. Glo says:

    I bet you were pleased to see that your plants are sprouting…it is such a guessing game when so much depends on conditions being just so… to produce new life! I still find it miraculous to see tiny seeds turning into big edible vegetables or pretty flowers. I think talking (or singing/whistling) to plants is a fine way of encouraging them to germinate 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I always am, and marvel that it happens at all. I agree, and think that it’s amazing.
      That has to be far better than a Dalek’s exhortation! xx

  8. annie_h says:

    I’ve had to resow some things too, due in part to the cold and poor germination but also slugs, I’d pricked out a whole load of Nicotiana and slugs completely grazed them to the ground! So frustrating.

  9. Liz says:

    Interesting post by Wellywoman. I have little success with starting seeds indoors — damping off is a problem. I have more success direct sowing outdoors. But, it gives us pause to think of the non-germinators and the companies that sell them, especially with the rising cost of packets of seeds!

Leave a Reply

