So far, so good

I’ve mentioned in a couple of recent posts that I’m growing a few plants in pots at home. I try this every year and usually have little, or no, success. This year I wasn’t going to bother but, once again, the temptation to try again got the better of me.

I sowed two squash Sunburst F1, one per pot, both of which germinated and the smaller one, as seen, is now at least 6″. I re-potted them this week and will plant them out in a few weeks time.

Four tomato Golden Queen were sown, one to a pot, and all germinated. These are all about 5″, have also been re-potted and will likewise go out in a few weeks.

Another tomato Red Robin I sowed just two seeds, one per pot, and both have grown. These are just a couple of inches, but only grow to around a foot or so. These have gone into 5″ pots and will be grown indoors.

All the above were sown just over four weeks ago and given the lack of sunshine and warmth since then I’m surprised, and pleased, at how well they’ve done sitting on the window sill.

Of the ten pot marigold seeds I was given only one failed to appear, and all the others are just starting to show their second pair of leaves. I’ve replanted one to see how it does as a indoor pot plant, the rest will go out on the plot with some going into the big pot that I had some daffodils in.

Here’s one of each showing what they looked like yesterday –

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to So far, so good

  1. Mo says:

    Congratulations on your germinations 🙂 They look really healthy.

  2. elaine says:

    You see, it pays to keep trying – let’s hope they keep doing well once they are put outside. Fingers crossed! Have a good weekend yourself.

  3. Jo says:

    It’s always exciting to see seeds germinating, and you know what they say, if at first you don’t succeed try try again. It worked! Hope they all do well for you.

  4. Wow, Flighty….Congrats!
    I have never tried my windowsills, but I do sow everything in pots,trays or modules in my “Sheebeen” tunnel. I have noticed anyone using windowsills seem to do better. Must try that next year,whatever the the neighbours think..lol!
    I hope they all do well for you when you put them outside,!

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine thanks. I don’t have a lot of room on the sills that are suitable so I’m somewhat limited. Me too, but it’ll be a few weeks yet, when it will hopefully be sunny and warm. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I’m very impressed, Flighty! My seedling success rate is quite dismal. Much better when I sow in the ground. Then I can forget what I’ve sown and am pleasantly surprised when something comes up!

  6. Mark Willis says:

    Your Squash looks a lot better than my ones. I think I was fooled by the warm March weather into sowing too soon. My plants are drawn and leggy after too much time spent on gloomy April / May windowsills.

  7. Ellie says:

    They look great, Mr F. Like Mark, I sowed everything too early, and they have hardly put on growth – your tomato seedlings are bigger than the Gardener’s Delight ones I sowed ages ago. Timing seems to be everything, even if conditions aren’t always optimum. Looks like you could have some bumper crops this summer. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks. I usually end up getting a few tomato plants so I’ll be really pleased if these do well. Fingers crossed that we all do. xx

  8. wellywoman says:

    Some good looking plants there. Lets just hope things warm up a bit. I’ve got a window sill’s worth of french beans waiting to go out but its much too cold. They’re already about a foot tall, if they have to stay in any longer I may not be able to see out of the window! Have a great weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. The forecast here is looking good for next week with dry, sunny and warmer weather.
      I think that lots of people have that problem at the moment. Thanks, you too. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Plants are looking good, Flighty ~ it’s always fun to see seeds sprout and when they’re close at hand, it seems you can actually see them grow! Hope your weather is warm and sunny!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, and yes it sure is. They seemed to be almost static at one stage but are noticeably growing now.
      It isn’t at the moment but it’s looking a lot better for next week. xx

  10. Oh Flighty, some of my seeds are still in the packet!!! I’m a disgrace..

Leave a Reply

