Busy again

Last Monday I spent a couple of hours plotting before it clouded over and started raining again. I hoed and weeded round the broad beans, potatoes and onions. I sowed another double row of broad beans and planted more onions sets in the few gaps where earlier ones hadn’t appeared.

Yesterday was sunny and reasonably warm so I spent all morning being busy again.  Although the ground was still soggy in places I was able to cut the grass down the path along the eastern edge, and did plenty of hoeing and weeding.

If the flowers are anything to go by then it should be a good year for strawberries, which will make up for last year!

It’s good to see the poached egg plants starting to flower, as are the aquilegias and there are buds on the rose Pretty Lady.

I grow a small group of teasels in the hope that one day I’ll see a goldfinch or two on them. The new ones are growing well  so I will remove the old ones soon, being very careful when I do as they are really prickly.

The feathery fennel is now a knee height mound which looks, and feels amazing, and the smell of aniseed is quite noticeable.  It’s growing next to the rosemary, in the stone feature, which has been flowering for weeks. I’ve been looking for the rather colourful rosemary beetle but thankfully haven’t found any, and really don’t want to!

There were a few white butterflies fluttering about, lots of honey bees on the flowers and ladybirds everywhere.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Busy again

  1. Jo says:

    I’ve got lots of flowers on my strawberries, I hope the frost doesn’t drop by and ruin them all. I haven’t seen any butterflies around at all yet this year.

  2. wellywoman says:

    Flighty, it all sounds delightful. My strawberries are covered too in flowers. I can’t wait to be eating them. It’s good to see the sun again.

  3. elaine says:

    Gradually, everything is doing what it is supposed to do. There are always plenty of jobs to be getting on with once the sun comes out.

  4. Glad you are getting to do something on the plot, Flighty.
    Things are moving along 🙂
    I have seen 2 white butterflies in our garden and caterpillers have been eating the new lower growth on the gooseberry bushes….never saw them there before!!!!

  5. Glo says:

    Good to read that the weather has improved enough to encourage you back to the plot and to gardening! Sounds like everything is coming along well and it will indeed by interesting to see how certain plants will develop. Lots of apple and pear blossom here now so hoping for a good supply of fruit. In the meantime my lilac is blooming so another lovely fragrance to enjoy. Beautiful weather here 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it was a good plotting weekend for a change. As it hopefully gets sunnier and warmer everything will noticeably grow almost daily. It sounds like you’ve plenty to enjoy along with the good weather. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    How nice of the wildlife to accompany you on your busy day. Looks like the bees were nearly as busy as you.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it sure is. Apparently they’ve been suffering a bit in the recent cold, wet weather so were obviously making the most of it. xx

  7. Being on the warm south coast, I’ve got used to the plants round here being ahead of many other places but the drought was such a set back . . . you are ahead. Aquilegia still closed. Fennel just above ankle high.

  8. Ellie says:

    You did well at the weekend. As bad luck would have it, I had to spend most of it indoors at the theatre so didn’t get much done. Like Lucy above, you are well ahead of my Aquilegia plants too. But the garden is starting to take off at last, so we’ll probably have more to do than we can cope with soon! x

  9. Doris says:

    I don’t have a garden but I have found lots of wild strawberry flowers out in the nature parks. I always seem to find the flowers in May but never the fruit in June! Maybe some wild creature is getting to them before me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

