I didn’t do any plotting…

again last week as the weather continued to be cold, wet and windy for much of the time, and the ground is still too soggy.

On Monday morning I looked at the weeds, picked some rhubarb and took a few photos including this one of a fox on Fran’s plot which is just over the road from mine. I was pleased to see it this close as I now usually only see them down towards the other end of the site.

The rhubarb was as delicious as it looks. I just cut it up , stew gently for a few minutes, sprinkle some demerara on it and eat.

The perennial cornflowers (centaurea montana) now have plenty of flowers on them which the bees will home in on.

The rose Pretty Lady is now really bushy again following the severe pruning I gave it a couple of months ago. Β As you can see Fox Junior is now sitting under it keeping an eye on the plot.

At home the squash and tomato seeds I sowed have germinated and are growing but I think that they really need some warm sunshine.

Talking about seed sowing and germination this rather interesting, and very informative,Β Seed Sowing No-ShowsΒ post that Wellywoman did a couple of days ago is well worth reading.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I didn’t do any plotting…

  1. Jo says:

    I haven’t done any plotting this week either, Flighty. The weather just hasn’t been good enough to venture to the allotment, though it’s rather nice today, typical then that we’re in the middle of decorating so I won’t get down there again. Nice to see a fox again, though Fran might not feel the same if it’s done any damage on her plot.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I did a couple of hours early this morning before it started raining again. Decorating in May just seems wrong somehow! Generally the foxes don’t cause any damage thankfully. xx

  2. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, it has been a miserable week, although so far this weekend has been a pleasant change, with a reminder of what the sun looks like!! More rain tomorrow though. I’ve been enjoying some rhubarb too, the rain means it has taken on triffid like proportions as it bids for domination of my plot. At least something is liking the wet. Thanks for the mention. It has been interesting reading about other peoples’ experiences. As we speak I am waiting for my squash and courgettes to germinate. Fingers crossed.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it sure has. Lucky you as the sun hasn’t been seen here much at all lately.
      You’re welcome. Yes it has and it seems that we all have had experience of non-germination. Both of those are pretty good so should appear soon. xx

  3. Ellie says:

    I’ve only done greenhouse plotting – not the same at all, but better than nothing. Your rhubarb looks delicious – very tender. Do you force it? I shall go and check on mine. Thanks for the link to Wellywoman’s post, which I found very interesting. I have added her blog to my ‘Blogs I like’ list. I am still waiting for my squash seeds to germinate, but the courgettes (sown at the same time) have germinated well. X

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie lucky you having a greenhouse. No, I leave the rhubarb to do it’s own thing.
      You’re welcome. It’s a post that I think any gardener would find of particular interest. I have a couple of squash seeds growing but I’m giving courgettes a miss this year. xx

  4. It has been disappointing weather so far this season, things seem to be at a standstill in the outside beds, but today I had to plant out my 2 pumpkin plants because they were bursting out of their pots! 6 courgette plants really need to go out also, so might chance them in a few days time. Outside empty beds are crying out for plants and the plants are crying out to be planted!
    Our ancient rhubarb has already given us stalks and I’d say there is more to cut now, but no one here likes rhubarb very much. They had been planted at least 36 years ago by my Mother-in-Law and still producing !
    I think if it was an allotment I had, I wouldn’t be there much either. Just glad I have a big back garden and can get there every day!

    • Flighty says:

      Cath the past month has really been too cold and wet. What we need now is it to be dry and warm to encourage everything to grow.
      I’m not surprised at your rhubarb as it’s one plant that seems to go on for ever.
      With the weather as it’s been here I don’t think that a garden would be any better. xx

  5. Glo says:

    I smiled when I read “On Monday morning I looked at the weeds, picked rhubarb…” Sorry to hear your weather continued to be miserable, and hope it has cheered up, or will soon. Today was sunny here and I tell you it makes all the difference!! Great photo of the Fox, rhubarb and cornflowers ~ also Fox Jr. I’m sending you sunshine (as long as I can keep it here as well)

    • Flighty says:

      Glo and on Saturday morning I reached the plot, realised how cold it was so turned round and came home! The weather isn’t look good for the coming week again, but perhaps after that… Thanks I’m glad that you like the photos. Some sunshine would be most welcome, and I’m more than happy to share it with you. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Sorry about that weather! At least you got some delicious rhubarb for dessert! The weather here’s been fantastic — a little too nice to be pulling weeds πŸ˜‰

  7. I’ve been managing to pluck a few weeds as I stroll around but it’s much too soggy for any proper hoe-ing. I’m quite glad of the chance to sow more seeds indoors but would love to get more stuff in the ground. I’ve got to make more nets for the veg patch raised beds so that newly planted stuff doesn’t get dug up again therefore the wet weather is suiting me quite nicely – at least for the immediate future! I do love a bit of rhubarb but have never grown it – I’m now hoping to remedy that as I’ve just sown a few modules of Glaskins Perpetual rhubarb which may give me a few stalks next year. I’m sure this weather won’t last for too much longer then it will be all go, go, go! Have a really good week! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro as the saying goes every little helps! You seem quite busy regardless of the weather. Rhubarb is something that should be in every garden.
      I hope that you’re right, and when it does change we sure will all be busy. Thanks, you too! xx

  8. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, Thanks for the email. Not a problem, will see to both. Best wishes : – )

  9. Doris says:

    The rhubarb reminded me of the delicious strawberry and rhubarb pies I have eaten in the past. I can just taste it … mmmm!

  10. Liz says:

    The rhubarb looks yummy, just waiting to be stewed and enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

