Peace and quiet

On the rare occasions that I realise it’s totally quiet I make the most of it as I know that it won’t last very long.

I live in a flat, alongside a busy road and almost under the approach to RAF Northolt*,  which is less than two miles away, all of which means that there is nearly always some background noise.

At the plot it’s a similar story, albeit more muted.  I tend not to go there at weekends, apart from early on some Saturday mornings, as other people are often there mowing, rotovating or strimming adding to the noise.

I came across The Quiet Garden Movement (A simple ministry of hospitality and prayer) during the week which I read about with interest even though ‘I’m an atheist, thank God’, as the comedian Dave Allen often joked.

Life today is nearly always dictated by noise of all kinds and I often long for some peace and quiet.  Thankfully I can sometimes find it on the plot with just the bees buzzing and birds singing, and it’s then that I’ll perhaps give a prayer of thanks.

Have a good weekend, and as Dave Allen always said at the end of his shows ‘…may your God go with you’.

[* RAF Northolt was in the news yesterday and I may well do a post about that next week, probably over on Sofa flying where this week I showed some wet sunglasses.]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Peace and quiet

  1. elaine says:

    I know what you mean Flighty – even here in the depths of the countryside there is always some noise – tractors, chainsaws, milk lorries, microlights etc. I choose my times to go to the allotment early morning and evening when there is at least a chance of peace and quiet. Have you thought about earplugs!

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I guess that generally it’s a noisy world nowadays. I prefer plotting early morning.
      Most of the time I can tune out the background noise but I’m a very light sleeper so I usually use earplugs then. xx

  2. Ellie says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Noise pollution is the price to be paid for all the labour-saving devices we use. Our previous neighbour drove me mad with his Saturday morning ritual of cleaning his car with a power hose (even though he used it once a week), strimming a minute grass verge, electric-hedge trimmers – you name it. I would have minded less, but he was retired and could have kept the weekend quiet for those who worked! x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks. It’s about time that all such devices were made quieter
      I think that too many people suffer from inconsiderate neighbours like that. xx

  3. wellywoman says:

    I used to live under the flight path to Heathrow so I sympathise. It’s much quieter here in my village in Wales, although we are blighted by barking dogs. I’ll often escape up to the allotment when the dogs get too much and I can feel a headache coming on. The allotment is next to a fairly busy road but this noise don’t bother me too much. Although in the summer, especially Sundays it is a popular biking route so then we’re treated to seemingly endless streams of motorbikes. I’ve come to the conclusion some people just like to make noise, they just seem to be naturally noisy people. I have neighbours similar to Ellie who have a petrol driven mower and strimmer. For me gardens are a place of peace and quiet and I use hand shears for my hedge and we have no lawns that need mowing. A really interesting post. Hope you have a peaceful weekend and a drier one x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ I’ve known people live near Heathrow as well. Thankfully flights in and out of Northolt are far fewer and much quieter.
      Too many people are noisy for no good reason it seems.
      Thanks. I hope too, and fingers crossed it looks like it may be. I hope you do too. xx

  4. Jo says:

    I think the most peaceful time at the allotment is first thing on a morning, before everyone’s up and about, though my favourite time to be there is evening just before sunset. Even when there’s noise at this time, it still seems peaceful somehow.

  5. Doris says:

    I can really relate to your need for peace and quiet. I like to go to the Montreal Botanical Gardens but on the weekends it is filled with people and lots of children and during the week it is filled with the maintenance workers with their weed-whackers and mowers and leaf blowers. I think we need silence in our lives and it is getting harder and harder to find.

    • Flighty says:

      Doris thanks, it seems that we all do but as you say it is getting harder to find.
      Visits to gardens like that should be peaceful pleasure. xx

  6. Glo says:

    I’m tiptoeing in my stocking feet and whispering, too, so as not to disturb your peace and well being. 🙂 How exciting to have a Typhoon Fighter doing manoeuvrings nearby!

    Here’s to the gentle sounds of nature 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks that’s much appreciated! I’m in two minds about the Typhoons, although they are an unusual sight for here.
      Yes indeed! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Well, unlike Elaine in the countryside, I’m not far from a fairly busy street and always expect some noise. Yesterday afternoon, Wimsey and I went out to enjoy the garden but we finally had to give it up when a neighbor’s mowing (smelly AND noisy) chased us back indoors. I’m sure you appreciate the quiet at the plot and choose your visits accordingly!

    • Flighty says:

      NIkki I sympathise as the combination of noise and smell is obviously much worse. I just wish that such people had a little more consideration. I certainly do so rarely find that I’ve timed my visits wrongly! xx

  8. gaiamethod says:

    Our noise pollution here in Luxor usually consists of feral dogs barking all night, male donkeys barking in response, a cockerel who doesn’t seem to know that crowing all night is probably not what he is supposed to be doing and the call to prayer at 3.30 am…or should I say the cacophony of calls to prayer over every loudspeaker in every mosque around us. There must be at least five, all in competition with each other!!! Mind you I have become so used to it now that I don’t even hear it!!! Our own cockerel keeps everyone else awake though. There is justice in the world! 🙂

  9. Flighty says:

    Gaiamethod hello, and welcome. It seems that many of us all live in a noisy world day and night.
    I think that if I was there in Luxor I would have to use earplugs during the night!
    Take care. xx

  10. alison says:

    “may your god go with you” – haha! 😀
    have a lovely weekend flighty! xx

  11. Liz says:

    Noise pollution. You talk about the lawnmowers, rototillers, strimmers/weedeaters in harmony or disharmony at the allotment on weekends. That reminds me of the townhouse we rented when we lived in Northern California for a couple of years. Every weekend, usually a Saturday afternoon around 2 o’clock, the cleanup brigade would arrive and get to work. The noisiest machine they used was the leaf blower. And to this day, I cannot understand the point of leaf blowers. They seem as popular and as loud as ever, but I would have thought it easier to vacuum leaves up and dump them on the compost heap. There’s always a rake, too!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz all those machines annoy me, especially when there are several being used at one time in fairly close proximity. I’m not convinced that they are more convenient or quicker much of the time. xx

Leave a Reply

