Keep smiling

It’s been a pretty miserable week weather wise being mostly wet, as indeed it has most of the month. The plot is now waterlogged so the few visits there have been just to have a quick look round and see how bedraggled it’s all looking.

The squash and tomato seeds that I sowed in pots at home a couple of weeks ago have germinated but I’m sure that, like us, they would like some brighter, warmer weather.

I’ve also sowed some pot marigold seeds that I was given in a pot. I don’t know the variety but it’s a compact bushy plant with small yellow flowers.

A couple of weeks ago I sent some of my Flighty’s mix ones to Sue, a friend on one of the gardening forums. By way of a thank you she sent me this lovely home made card.

So thankfully it’s not all doom and gloom, and on another forum this made me laugh.

Keep smiling, and have a good weekend! 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Keep smiling

  1. wellywoman says:

    Made me smile, too. Much as we need the rain it’s frustrating we go from one extreme to another – drought then flood. Tuesday was dry enough for me to get quite a lot done, although the soil was wetter than I would normally dig in. Some plants just needed to go in though. Just sown some squash seeds. Hoping as we move into May things will start to warm up. Well we can hope. Have a good weekend. WW x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks. I think that we’re going to experience ever more extreme weather in the coming years. I haven’t been to the plot since Monday but hope to have a look round tomorrow. I hope May is much better too. You too! xx

  2. Jo says:

    We definitely need to keep smiling in this weather. It started off quite a nice morning, but I can’t believe it’s raining again now, I don’t think it’s ever going to stop. What a lovely card, there’s some very talented people out there.

  3. 🙂 have a good weekend

  4. elaine says:

    We definitely need less rain and more warmth – the sun is out at the moment – but from the look of the black sky it won’t last long. I’m getting very frustrated at the lack of gardening time – I have 16 dustbins full of water now at the allotment – I think that should see me through the hosepipe ban!

  5. Ellie says:

    It’s certainly been a challenge trying to smile when it has been this wet and cold – one or other I can cope with, but both together make me very miserable. Perhaps we should ban TV presenters mentioning the words ‘hosepipe ban’ in future – they are always followed by a deluge! x

  6. What a lovely card to get. It is so nice to get something like that 🙂
    Yes….weather bad here in Ireland too, but today down south in Cork gave a little lift to the spirit. The sun came out for a few hours this afternoon and I ran down the garden and did a bit of work. Rain brings weeds, so I weeded like mad..LOL!
    I actually lost track of time and forgot to make dinner for Himself, so he had a microwave pre-packed plate of “slop” !! he didn’t really mind because He said it was good for me to get out while I could 🙂
    Despite the bad weather, I think there is a glimmer of hope, because little seedlings are turning into little plants. So hopefully soon we will see an improvement in May

    • Flighty says:

      Catherine yes it was a welcome surprise. Lucky you being able to make the most of it like that.
      I like to think, indeed sincerely hope, that there’s always a glimmer of hope. Fingers crossed! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Gardeners are such generous people 🙂 You must’ve shared some rain clouds with me this week!

  8. Mo says:

    A lovely card to help you to keep smiling 🙂

  9. What a lovely way to say thank you! I’m not minding the downpours so much – if the weeds are anything to go by, all this water is definitely doing some good in the garden! When everything dries up a bit, I’ll be able to appreciate getting outside with the sun on my face again. I’m sowing squashes, beans, courgettes and peas indoors this week so I hope that we get some warm weather by the time they germinate! Wishing you a lovely weekend, looks like it will be a good one for sofa flying! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro it sure is. I wasn’t minding either but with the plot now waterlogged it’s going to be well into next week before I can do even just some weeding.
      Thanks that’s what I’ll be doing as it looks like being rather wet all weekend! xx

  10. Glo says:

    I’m feeling the same with this unsettled weather…sorry to hear about the plot being ‘waterlogged ‘…doesn’t bode well for plantings, however the birds don’t seem to mind, do they? They just carry on as usual. I have hung a hummingbird feeder on the ‘bird tree’ and have had a recent visitor to it and the hanging basket close by. I know the sun is still up there because I’ve seen it once or twice. Perhaps all this liquid sunshine will eventually dissipate. As you may have noticed, I have not been in a blogging/commenting mood lately for some reason. I have been keeping up with reading though.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’m not surprised. Thanks but it should dry off fairly quickly, and thankfully it’s nowhere near as bad as some other plots. As you say the birds just carry on, apart from an extra shake or two to keep their feathers dry.
      I’m sure the weather will change eventually and then we’ll be moaning that it’s too dry, hot or windy!
      That’s okay as I’m sure that you’ve kept busy doing all sorts. xx

  11. Glo says:

    PS Cute link ~ I have seen it posted on a sign at a garden nursery around here and thought it was quite clever and funny! Also, I have posted my April Photo Scavenger Hunt.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’m not surprised that you’ve seen it elsewhere, and yes it is funny. I’ll look at your post, and comment, latter on today as I’m off to the trading shed soon. xx

Leave a Reply

