Faffing around

It was sunny on Monday morning, which I spent sowing plenty of flower seeds, but since then there’s been lots of rain with more to come right through to least early next week.

Reading Elaine’s Herbylicious post yesterday reminded me that I’ve not mentioned that plot neighbour Trevor recently gave me this clump of lovage. Like the other herbs that I grow, such as fennel, lavender and rosemary,  it will be a decorative plant rather than for culinary use.

I have very kindly been given a handful of tomato Red Robin seeds to try. My track record on growing any tomato plants from seed is abysmal but I keep trying and will let you know how I get on with these.

I was also given some squash (Summer) Sunburst F1, seeds that I’ve not grown before.  I’ve sown a couple in pots indoors, and also kept a few to sow direct outdoors if need be.

I have revived my Sofa flying blog yet again as you can see on this Off plot photos post.

With the weather being like it is I shall probably much of the next few days indoors just faffing around.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Faffing around

  1. Jo says:

    There’s been lots of herby posts just recently on blogs I read and they’ve inspired me to grow a few more herbs than I usually do. I’ve never really been in to herbs so it may be the start of a new venture for me. I think I’ve got the same squash which I’m going to try this year. I haven’t sowed the seed yet, I’m giving it another couple of weeks. Good luck with your tomatoes, fingers crossed that growing from seed works for you this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that we gardeners often don’t grow enough herbs, either for culinary use or as decorative plants. I’ve not grown any squashes before so it’ll be interesting to see how they do. Thanks, I keep thinking that one year I’ll get to grow tomatoes from seed so I keep trying. xx

  2. Mo says:

    Lovage grows huge 🙂 You can use the leaves for a celery taste.
    We have some Sunburst too. Pattypans are lovely little squashes, ideal for one or two people. I do hope you will try eating them 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Mo yes I’ve seen some taller than me! I’ve eaten the leaves which as you say taste like celery. That’s good to know, and if they grow I’ll certainly try eating at least one. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    You, faff around! It sounds like very purposeful dabbling to me. Quite a bit should come out of it in the fullness of time.

    Am I not known on this posting site? I seem to be required to fill out contact details (again).

  4. elaine says:

    I have a patch of lovage – I hope you have planted it somewhere with plenty of space – I have to keep digging bits of mine out to keep it in check – the weather hasn’t been kind to us this week – but the sun is out at the moment which has cheered me up a bit. I have just put a cottage pie in the oven and am in the process of bread-making so can only make a quick foray outside to take advantage of the rain stopping for five minutes. Good luck with your toms and have a nice weekend of faffing.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’ve planted in a corner well out the way and with plenty of room. More showers than sunshine that’s for sure. Mmm cottage pie and home made bread sounds delicious.
      Thanks I need all the luck I can get. I’m sure that I will, and you too! xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Lovage is huge, seems to grow well irrespective of climate. I was quite glad that mine was contained, to some extent, last year by our weather patterns. The dark wee corner by a brick wall did not encourage one plant to spread wide or grow high….but then, I was not needing a huge crop. It has quite a dominating flavour and no doubt could dominate a veggie bed if left uncontrolled.

  6. wellywoman says:

    The lovage looks super healthy. I’ve never grown or cooked with it. I’m growing my own sage this year from seed. I made my own sage and onion stuffing at Christmas which tasted far better than anything I’ve had before, so this year the plan is to grow my own sage for this year’s stuffing.
    The weather here has been miserable, torrential downpours, hail and it’s so cold. I don’t mind the rain, we all need it but I would like it to get a bit warmer. My plants at the allotment are just sulking at the moment.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks, the picture was taken soon after I planted it. I’ve just been reading about sage and see that as well as being an attractive bush with blue flowers it is our strongest-flavoured herb so don’t use too much!
      It’s been the same here, and the forecast for next month isn’t looking good either. I’m not surprised, and think that most peoples are doing the same. xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    I see you need to cook lovage with a bit of hog’s fat (or so says the link!) so I can see why you might want it for its ornamental beauty 🙂

  8. Ellie says:

    I always hold my breath when it comes to sowing tomato seed, as it always seems hit and miss. Gardener’s Delight, which I love and is normally reliable, has been really slow to germinate this year. The really irritating thing is that I very often have hundreds of seedlings in my compost bin from discarded tomatoes – but, of course, no means of knowing which type they are!

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie me too! I’m being given a handful of Gardener’s Delight plants at the end of May for which I’m thankful as I like them too. A lot of people say that about the seeds! xx

Leave a Reply

