Armchair gardening again

I didn’t do much plotting last week and was only there for a while on Monday and Friday mornings doing some weeding.

As advised I pruned the grapevine back during January when it was dormant and wouldn’t weep any sap. Now it’s growing again and I’m hoping that it’ll do at least as well as it did last year.

The blackberry and raspberries, pruned and tidied up some weeks ago, are all beginning to show lots of new growth.

The strawberries likewise, and much to my surprise I noticed a few flowers on them!

It’s a dull, wet morning here in London and the forecast is for heavy rain for much of tomorrow so I guess that I’ll be armchair gardening again.

Still I’m not complaining as officially there are drought conditions and a hosepipe ban came into force on Thursday.

Happy gardening!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Armchair gardening again

  1. The weather always seems to be disappointing around the Easter period doesn’t it. I have been greenhouse gardening – sowing seed etc. so at least I can feel I am doing something positive. This morning I have sown wildflower seed at the allotment while the soil is damp – hopefully it will get them off to a good start. Nice to see all your plants coming back to life, hopefully you will get good harvests again. Happy Easter hols.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine yes it does sadly. Lucky you. I shall be sowing my wildflower seeds soon.
      It’s always a relief to see plants coming back to life, and let’s hope that we all have good harvests.
      Thanks, it’s been a mostly dull, wet one here so lots of sofa flying with a good book or three. xx

  2. Jo says:

    There hasn’t been much gardening happening here either, we’re in the midst of decorating instead. We do need a bit of rain, but I wish it would come during the night rather than during the day when we want to get out and about.

  3. Mark Willis says:

    Typical Bank Holiday weather! Isn’t it ironic that on the day when our Hosepipe Ban came into force we got the first significant rain for ages? I’ve been out watering my Asparagus (by hand!) because the soil is still parched and dusty only an inch below the surface.

  4. wellywoman says:

    Weather hasn’t been too bad here so far and it’s been much milder than last week which is nice but tomorrow is meant to be wet here too. Like you I don’t mind so much, we do need the rain and I’d rather have it now than in August. I’d love a grapevine. What variety is yours and did you get any fruit from it last year? There are quite a few vineyards around us so its obviously possible to grow them.

  5. Ellie says:

    There is nothing worse than this cold, gloomy Bank Holiday weather. I spent a couple of hours raking in grass seed to a new bank, and was glad to retire to the greenhouse where at least it was warm. I’ve noticed a couple of strawberry flowers too but nothing much else is germinating! But it won’t be long before there aren’t enough hours in the day (as if there were enough now!) and we’ll be glad of an armchair gardening break. (Mine has been spent looking at rose catalogues!) x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I agree especially for us gardeners who want to be out planting and sowing. I do wish I had a greenhouse and could do that.
      Never mind as you say it won’t be long before we’re all rather too busy again.
      I keep looking at the online rose catalogues as I’m looking for a yellow one to replace one that I dug up last year. xx

      • Ellie says:

        I can’t remember what variety you had before, but a good, reliable yellow rose is Korresia – described as one of the best floribundas. I bought one for my first garden – my first rose, I think – and I’ve just bought another one, even though I tend to favour old roses.

        Yes, a greenhouse is a wonderful thing. It is the first time I have had one, and I like to sit in it on cold sunny days in lieu of having a conservatory. Maybe one day! x

  6. Glo says:

    Happy Easter Flighty! I hope the Easter Bunny brings you some chocolate biscuits, unlike the Easter Bunny not far from here disguising an undercover policeman who radioed to other policemen around the corner if he noticed any drivers not wearing seatbelts…the driver was then issued a $167 fine! Humphh. Weather is OK here…yesterday was sunny, today overcast. Temps still cooler than usual which means spring flowers are still in the beginning stages.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, and you too! I’ve had a few chocolate biscuits, and there was cake at the trading shed yesterday.
      I don’t have any sympathy for the drivers who transgressed, and hope that you weren’t one of them.
      I hope that it warms up there so the flowers start blooming for you to enjoy. xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Always a good sign when new growth starts again after pruning!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki a relief as well. Thankfully the rose ‘Pretty Lady’ is beginning to look good again after the hard prune I gave it a month or so ago. xx

  8. Louise says:

    Yes, this weekend has not been good for gardening. Hardly surprising you’ve resorted to sofa flying! But as you say we do need the rain, especially so here in the South East. Happy Easter Flighty! x

  9. Damo says:

    Raining heavily here now but hoping to get a window of opportunity at the allotment tomorrow morning.

  10. Mo says:

    We did manage to get some gardening done over the miserable Easter weekend, but not a lot. We took to our armchairs too 🙂

  11. Glo says:

    Me again ~ Just wanted to reply to your reply re the Easter Bunny policeman! I also have no sympathy for those not wearing seatbelts, driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs, or any other infractions…I just didn’t like the idea of a policeman hiding in a bunny suit! The same idea has been used elsewhere and is a controversial issue.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I felt sure that you hadn’t transgressed. I agree with you and feel that by doing that they actually lose their authority, and the respect of some people. xx

  12. Liz says:

    A hosepipe ban in April? Goodness, that’s alarming. We do take water for granted when it is such a precious resource.

  13. Flighty says:

    Liz thankfully there’s been no ban the past couple of years. We do indeed, and water waste is one of my bugbears. xx

Leave a Reply

