It’s April already!

I suppose that being Easter next week it was almost inevitable that it looks like changing to much colder weather with frosty nights.

Taking a short break from planting potatoes one morning I looked round the plot and noticed this fancy double daffodil and several hyacinths, including this white one. I think the latter were among the daffodil bulbs I was given last autumn.

What was really pleasing was seeing that the plum tree is now covered in blossom,

which I’m guessing won’t survive through next week if the forecast is correct.

I don’t really grow dahlias as two of  my neighbours grow lots of them which I enjoy looking at. I did grow a couple of Zingaro last year which I gave to Daffy for her birthday. I’ve bought a few more this year – the colourful Caribbean Sunset and the rather more subdued Eveline.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s April already!

  1. Mo says:

    Beautiful white blooms for April 1st – thank you! The hyacinth in particular looks very ‘pure’, lovely to see. I have some Dahlia seeds this year and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that i don’t get earwigs too! 🙂 Have a good April!

    • Flighty says:

      Mo you’re welcome! It does, and looks nicer than the yellow and pink ones. I must try growing dahlias from seed from than buying tubers. Thanks, and you too! xx

  2. Lovely to see the plum blossom, mine is just starting to open too, hope it doesn’t get nipped in the bud by the early morning frost. Love the white hyacinth it looks so clean and fresh. Mine are just about going over which is a shame. Have a good Sunday.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine as you say lovely to see, and fingers crossed that the frost stays away. I’m not that keen on hyacinths but I do like this one. I did thanks, and hope that you did too. xx

  3. Jo says:

    My cherry blossom has just come out, I’m hoping for another good harvest this year. I was expecting it to be dull this weekend but it’s still sunny, though much cooler. I love the really zingy dahlias, it looks like Caribbean Sunset fits in that category. I look forward to seeing it in all it’s glory.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I not keen on plums so not too worried if mine doesn’t fruit, although it’ll be interesting to see if it does. Yes zingy is an apt description for that one. Me too. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    The plum blossom looks amazing. My crab apple blossom is just about to open so I’m hoping the weather in the coming week doesn’t cause any damage. I’ve grown a few dahlias in the past. They are great for providing late colour but I found they didn’t last long as cut flowers so I’m probably not going to do any this year. Space is tight so everything really has to earn it’s place.

  5. Doris says:

    Nice blooms! Even here in Montreal I saw some flowers in bloom yesterday. And the Red-winged Blackbirds are back! My favorite harbinger of spring!

  6. VP says:

    I’ve been pondering whether the blossom will survive this week too – our next door neighbour’s Magnolia is in full bloom at the moment 😮

  7. Glo says:

    Lovely white blossoms and blooms! We are sporting white as well, but more flaky than blossomy!!! Winter does have some fun with us before being banished to other climes, doesn’t he? I hope Spring manages to send him on his way before he damages any of your lovely plants.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it looks like there could be some white flakes here over Easter! Lets hope it’s winter’s finale for all of us. I do to, but there plenty more of interest to come. xx

  8. annie_h says:

    Yes hard to believe its April already! I was hoping the forecast of snow for this week was an April fool but it definitely looks to be getting colder, we have been so spoilt in the last couple of weeks.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Absolutely delightful, Flighty! Nevermind the forecast, let’s just enjoy these beauties popping up all around.

  10. Louise says:

    I love dahlias, and especially like the look of your Eveline. x

  11. Liz says:

    Lovely plum blossoms. I’ll read on to see if they survive the weather forecast!

Leave a Reply

