Watching the birds…

on the allotments is something that I always enjoy doing, and count it as a real bonus that I generally see, and hear, as many as I do.

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been watching crows dropping food into the dustbin lid pond to soften before consuming, and also just drinking from it.  I know that some people find them rather intimidating because of their all black appearance and imposing size compared to most other garden birds.

This years robin seems content just to make a brief visit before heading back to the top of a nearby tree to continue singing it’s heart out.

Whilst I was chatting to plot neighbour Trevor last Saturday morning we saw three jays fly into the nearby conifers, heard and then saw a green woodpecker and watched a blue tit taking material into one of the nesting boxes.

Earlier today I read the results of this year’s RSPB Birdwatch count which highlights the noticeable drop in starling numbers. I have to say that I’ve certainly seen less lately.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Watching the birds…

  1. Mo says:

    I wondered if you would be mentioning the RSPB results. We still get our usual rowdy crowd of Starlings each year.
    We see Crows too. From a distance we see them flying home to roost on summer evenings, and closer we have two nesting in a nearby tree. One usually comes to sit in one of our trees and watch us.

    • Flighty says:

      Mo they always make interesting reading. So do I but in smaller numbers.
      There are a lots of crows here but this is the first time that I’ve seen them on the plot like this. xx

  2. Although you can hear them singing there seem to be fewer birds in the garden – all nest building I expect. Crows are very intelligent I think and during the winter one came down and left with huge mouthfuls of bread before the other birds got a chance.

  3. I have noticed an increase in the amount of starlings in the last week. We have plenty of crows around my area as there is a Rookery in the trees surrounding an old castle very nearby.
    I love to sit and listen to the evening chorus of birds around our garden. It is so soothing after a hard days work.

  4. Yes we get a lot of birds but a couple of new additions this spring one being the long tailed tit, which are just so sweet and what maybe a chiff chaff or warbler of some sort x love to sit and watch them all x

  5. Doris says:

    It must be so nice to hear the Robin sing. There is a bird (I think it is a Song Sparrow) that I hear singing in the mornings just near my place of work. It starts the day off right. 🙂

  6. Jo says:

    The starling numbers are down because they’re all in my garden. I get loads of starlings and sparrows, quite a few blue tits, a couple of blackbirds, a robin and very occasionally a couple of goldfinches and that’s about it. You’re lucky to get some less usual ones around, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a jay or green woodpecker.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s noticeable how some people see lots of them and others don’t! Apart from the goldfinches that’s what I normally see at home. The allotments are partly surrounded by trees which is ideal for jays and woodpeckers, neither of which I see that often. xx

  7. Glo says:

    Your title was reminiscent of ‘Watch the birdie’ of old photography days 😉 Yes, lovely to see and hear the birds which seem to be wondering what season it is around here. Whenever the sun shines (not often lately) out they come gathering nesting bits and pieces, and then whoosh they’re gone again. I’ve had a little purple finch on the front mat recently. I’m sure when you are plotting at the allotment, there will be birds watching out for tasty worms. Crows and their kin seem very creative in their food gathering attempts, and soaking their food before eating shows that they are quite ingenious…and perhaps gourmet cooks. Very entertaining to watch.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it does indeed! It looks like our season is about to change with cold, frosty weather due next week which is typical for Easter.
      I like your photo of the purple finch which is a pretty looking little bird. Corvids are highly intelligent birds. xx

  8. I like the imposing-ness of crows. I have only ever seen a jay once and was disappointed to find they are pink. I had imagined they would be blue because of the little blue feathers they drop from time to time.

    • Flighty says:

      Lucy me too! Jays are pinkish-brown, and often look different in the prevailing light. The blue is just a patch on the wings, and tail is black and white. Get a good look at one and I think that you might change your mind. xx

Leave a Reply

