It’s getting busy…

now it’s officially spring, the clocks have gone forward and the weather has been so good.

On Wednesday I sowed a double row of broad beans Medes which I hope will do as well as the ones I grew last year, and not be a disaster like the year before.

I planted about half the onions Sturon, and will plant the rest in a few weeks time.  I’ve still got over twenty in store that I grew last year, which will last me another few months as I only eat a couple a week.

I’m growing the same first early potatoes Vales Emerald as I did last year and planted these out on Wednesday as well. I dig individual holes for them, rather than  a trench, which I find much easier and quicker.

I wasn’t going to grow anything different or new this year but I was tempted to buy a packet of leaf beet Rainbow ChardIt’s a colourful and impressive looking vegetable which I don’t think I’ve ever eaten before. Even if I find that I don’t like it it should still look good on the plot.

This coming week I’ll be planting more potatoes and maybe sowing some beetroot and carrot seeds, and perhaps even a few flower seeds.

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s getting busy…

  1. wellywoman says:

    My broad beans and spuds are in too. This weather really is incredible, a repeat of last year possibly? Hopefully we don’t get such a cold, dull summer this time. I grew rainbow chard last year, the leaves are nice picked when not too big and lightly steamed like spinach. I used them like this in omlettes. You can also use that baby leaves as a cut and come again salad. I’m not so keen on them when the leaves get bigger. They do look beautiful a bit like a stained glass window when the light shines through them.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ although nice it is far too dry and warm for this time of year and I do wonder what the summer will be like!
      Thanks for the info on the rainbow chard, which I look forward to growing and eating. xx

  2. Sounds like you have been a busy boy – hope everything is successful for you this year.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Love it. Vegetables as ornamentals 🙂 Hope you get all the rain you need for your plot plans!

  4. Jo says:

    It certainly is getting busy now, especially with the good weather we’ve been having. I’m growing Rainbow Chard too, I’ve grown it before, it’s something a little different to put on the plate.

  5. Mo says:

    It’s all happening! 🙂 We have grown Rainbow Chard in the past too – rather too much of it though, but the chickens enjoyed their fair share of it 🙂

  6. daffy says:

    Happy gardening! (Sorry, can’t really participate more than that when it comes to gardening) Go you!
    Light nights are welcome though! xx

  7. alison says:

    happy spring! and happy gardening 🙂 xx

  8. Carrie says:

    Isn’t it fabulous planting things – oh so exciting 🙂 We have our potatoes in and lots of seeds – I really must do a post on it all so I remember what’s going on! The weather has been super here so we are getting on top of everything, yay!!

    LOVE your photo header (shy daffs)

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie it sure is! I’ve got just one more lot of potatoes to do now. I keep a note so that I remember what to blog about! Same here, and I’m doing good as well.
      Thanks, they’re the mini ones. xx

  9. Donna says:

    I hope my broad beans turn out that well. They’ve been in since October and have loads of flowers on them so fingers crossed. I’m growing rainbow chard too, (well if I don’t manage to kill them!), they look so bright and cheerful.

  10. Karen says:

    Flighty, I also prefer to plant potatoes in planting holes! I will be planting potatoes tomorrow at my alloment, planting holes it will be! The soil is still very stubborn in places, but, as you know it’s a new plot and these things take time xx

Leave a Reply

